Skip to main content

Sur­vey shows at­trac­tive­ness of the city cen­tre

GrazGutschein Innenstadt
© Holding Graz/Die Abbilderei

The Corona crisis and the associated closures in the course of the lockdowns have also left their mark on retail. After all, 78 percent of shops in Austrian cities had to close temporarily during the lockdown, as a recent survey of a total of 36 Austrian cities by the Lower Austrian consultancy “Standort + Markt” revealed. The current retail situation in the city centre of Graz was analysed in the course of the survey, as was the much-discussed topic of vacancies, the rate of which actually decreased in the city centre of Graz last year.

In order to further revitalise Graz city centre after months of lockdown, Mayor Nagl offers concrete support measures to the entrepreneurs.

Considerable number of shops in Graz city centre with 930 shops

The survey shows: The city centre of Graz has a dense and always highly attractive stock of shops, which extends over a total street length of more than 7 kilometres, whereby Annenstraße and the side streets of the city centre of Graz (among others Sporgasse, Stempfergasse) are also counted here. The so-called A-location, roughly speaking the area between Kastner & Öhler and Jakominiplatz, stretches over a street length including adjacent side streets of 1,150 metres, which is quite remarkable in an Austrian comparison and even matches the extent of the A-zone of Mariahilfer Strasse in Vienna.

The number of shops in Graz city centre is also considerable according to “Standort + Markt”: in total there are 930 shops with a business area of currently around 173,700 m², 61,200 m² of which are in A locations.

Vacancy rate moderate at 3.9 per cent

According to the analysts, the issue of “vacancy”, which is prevalent in many Austrian cities, is less dramatic in Graz than in other cities: the absolute number of 90 vacancies with a total of around 6,800 m² should be seen in the context of the total number of shops and the very high shop space volume. The vacancy rate in Graz City was recently a moderate 3.9 per cent; compared to 2019, the vacancy rate has even decreased by 0.3 percentage points. The average for primary cities with more than 100,000 inhabitants is 4.8 per cent, Innsbruck is slightly worse with 4.4 per cent most recently, Linz and Salzburg are about better with values between 3.0 per cent and 3.4 per cent.

The shop turnover in the city of Graz, i.e. the proportion of shops that are confronted with a change of tenant or use within a year, is 12.6 per cent – a value that is somewhat below the average value of cities in primary cities with over 100,000 inhabitants. According to the analysts of “Standort + Markt”, this is particularly pleasing, as a high index indicates a massive, very often detrimental change in the shop space structure. The city of Graz is thus to date to be classified as a sufficiently dynamic “place to be”. The situation is currently different in Innsbruck, for example, where the fluctuation rate is currently at 15.3 percent and is causing discussion.

Sector mix: fashion is the trump card with a 47 per cent share of space

With regard to the sector mix, the particularly important A-location of Graz was compared with other A-locations of the primary cities in the course of the survey: Here it is noticeable that the fashion sector in particular still has a very high weighting with a 47.2 percent share of space. “Kastner und Öhler” is the driving force here. The average of the Austrian primary cities with more than 100,000 inhabitants in this area is around 42 per cent, Vienna City (59.4 per cent) and Vienna Mariahilfer Strasse (53.3 per cent) achieve the top values among the primary cities here.

(Continue reading below!)

Citymanagement Graz
© Holding Graz
Citymanagement
© Holding Graz
GrazGutschein
Stocks Graz Gutscheine
GrazGutschein
GrazGutscheine Shooting Bauernmarkt und Shopping in der Innenstadt. Junges Paar spaziert durch die Stempfergasse mit NewOne-Tragetasche und 'Die Stadt meines Lebens'-Papiersackerl.
GrazGutschein
GrazGutscheine Shooting Bauernmarkt und Shopping in der Innenstadt. Junges Paar kauft mit Graz Gutscheinen am Bauernmarkt Kaiser-Josef-Platz ein.
GrazGutschein
GrazGutscheine Shooting Bauernmarkt und Shopping in der Innenstadt. Junges Paar shoppt mit Graz Gutscheinen in der Sporgasse.
We are pursuing the clear mandate to quickly offer support measures with the revitalisation offensive to strengthen Graz's economy.

Siegfried Nagl, mayor of the city of Graz

To support Graz’s inner city, Mayor Nagl is implementing the following concrete measures in coordination with the Department for Economic and Tourism Development:

  • Support for long-term business revitalisation
  • Support for pop-up use
  • Promotion of construction sites
  • Promotion of start-ups
  • Platform freielokale-graz.at
  • Subsidy “Verein Echt Graz
  • Promotion project GrazLog for climate-friendly urban goods transport
  • Promotion of events and cultural offers to make the city centre more attractive
  • Campaigns to strengthen regional trade (“Buy in Graz”)

 

Additional measures of the city management:

  • Summer in the City campaign
  • Sales campaigns for the GrazGutschein (e.g. loyalty campaign)
  • Film productions “City centre businesses in portrait
  • Influencer cooperations “City Centre & Shopping”, “Culinary”.

Mayor Siegfried Nagl: “The survey clearly shows that the range of shopping opportunities in the city centre of Graz – also in an Austria-wide comparison – is at a very good level with a total of 930 shops and that the traders in the city centre of Graz are represented with a considerable total area of over 170,000 m2. However, the effects of the Corona crisis have also been an enormous effort for the entrepreneurs in Graz city centre, which is why we are pursuing the clear mandate to quickly offer support measures with the revitalisation offensive to strengthen Graz’s economy: In addition to the promotion of start-ups, for example, by providing support for temporary business space utilisation through pop-up stores or with subsidies for the long-term revitalisation of business space.”

Holding Graz marketing manager Richard Peer: “With the new business field City Management, Holding Graz is setting numerous accents in the area of inner city revitalisation. In the past weeks we have been preparing for the now announced opening steps in mid-May. For example, new sales campaigns for the GrazGutschein, film productions for city centre businesses or another Summer-in-the-City campaign will be implemented so that we can provide the best possible support to retailers, restaurants and hotels.”

City manager Heimo Maieritsch: “We have to constantly monitor the situation in the city centre – which is why the external view from outside is also very important. At the same time, it is important to sustainably revitalise Graz city centre after the challenging months and to ensure that the added value stays in the region – for example with the popular GrazGutschein, which generated more than eight million euros in sales last year.”

Skip to main content

Er­he­bung zeigt At­trak­ti­vi­tät der In­nen­stadt

GrazGutschein Innenstadt
© Holding Graz/Die Abbilderei

Die Coronakrise und die damit verbundenen Schließungen im Zuge der Lockdowns haben auch im Handel Spuren hinterlassen. Immerhin mussten in den österreichischen Cities während des Lockdowns 78 Prozent der Shops temporär schließen, wie eine aktuelle Erhebung des niederösterreichischen Beratungsunternehmens „Standort + Markt“ unter insgesamt 36 österreichischen Städten ergab. Wie sich die Situation rund um den Einzelhandel in der Grazer Innenstadt derzeit gestaltet, wurde im Zuge der Erhebung ebenso analysiert wie das vieldiskutierte Thema Leerstand, dessen Quote sich in der Grazer City im Vorjahr sogar verringerte.

Zur weiteren Belebung der Grazer City nach Monaten des Lockdowns bietet Bürgermeister Nagl den UnternehmerInnen konkrete Unterstützungsmaßnahmen an.

Geschäftsanzahl mit 930 Shops in der Grazer Innenstadt beträchtlich

Die Erhebung zeigt: Die Grazer Innenstadt verfügt über einen dichten und seit jeher hoch attraktiven Geschäftsbesatz, der sich über eine gesamte Straßenlänge von über 7 Kilometern erstreckt, wobei hier auch die Annenstraße und die Seitengassen der Grazer City (u.a. Sporgasse, Stempfergasse) gezählt werden. Die sog. A-Lage, grob gesprochen der Bereich zwischen Kastner & Öhler und Jakominiplatz, erstreckt sich über eine Straßenlänge einschließlich angrenzender Nebenstraßen von 1.150 Metern, was im österreichweiten Vergleich durchaus beachtlich ist und sich sogar mit der Ausdehnung der A-Zone der Mariahilfer Straße in Wien deckt.

Auch die Shopanzahl in der Grazer Innenstadt ist laut „Standort + Markt“ beträchtlich: in Summe sind es 930 Shops mit einer Geschäftsfläche von derzeit rund 173.700 m², davon 61.200 m² in A-Lage.

Leerstandsquote mit 3,9 Prozent moderat

Das in vielen österreichischen Cities vorherrschende Thema „Leerstand“ ist in Graz laut den Analysten weniger dramatisch als in anderen Städten: die absolute Zahl von 90 Leerstehungen mit insgesamt rund 6.800 m² ist im Kontext der Gesamtzahl der Shops und des sehr hohen Shopflächen-Volumens zu sehen. Die Leerstandsquote lag zuletzt in der Grazer City bei moderaten 3,9 Prozent, gegenüber 2019 hat sich der Leerstand sogar um 0,3 Prozentpunkte verringert. Im Schnitt der Primärstädte mit mehr als 100.000 Einwohnern liegt dieser Wert bei 4,8 Prozent, Innsbruck schneidet mit zuletzt 4,4 Prozent etwas schlechter, Linz und Salzburg mit Werten zwischen 3,0 Prozent und 3,4 Prozent etwa besser ab.

Die Shop-Fluktuation in der City von Graz, also der Anteil der Shops, der innerhalb eines Jahres mit einem Mieter- bzw. Nutzungswechsel konfrontiert ist, liegt bei 12,6 Prozent – ein Wert, der etwas unter dem Durchschnittswert der Cities in Primärstädten mit über 100.000 Einwohnern liegt. Dies sei laut den Analysten von „Standort + Markt“ besonders erfreulich, da ein hoher Index auf eine massive, sehr häufig nachteilige Veränderung der Shopflächenstruktur hindeutet. Die City von Graz ist damit bis dato als ausreichend dynamisches „Pflaster“ einzustufen. Anders verhält es sich derzeit z.B. in Innsbruck, wo die Fluktuationsrate aktuell bei 15,3 Prozent liegt und für Diskussionen sorgt.

Branchenmix: Modebereich ist mit 47 Prozent Flächenanteil Trumpf

In Bezug auf den Branchen-Mix wurde die besonders wichtige A-Lage von Graz im Zuge der Erhebung mit anderen A-Lagen der Primärstädte verglichen: Hier fällt auf, dass insbesondere der Modebereich mit einem Flächenanteil von 47,2 Prozent ein nach wie vor sehr hohes Gewicht aufweist. „Kastner und Öhler“ tritt hier als Zugpferd auf. Der Durchschnitt der österreichischen Primärstädte mit mehr als 100.000 Einwohnern liegt in diesem Bereich bei rund 42 Prozent, die Wiener City (59,4 Prozent) und die Wiener Mariahilfer Straße (53,3 Prozent) erzielen hier die Spitzenwerte bei den Primärstädten.

(Lesen Sie unterhalb weiter!)

Citymanagement Graz
© Holding Graz/Die Abbilderei
Shoppen in Graz
© Holding Graz/Die Abbilderei
GrazGutschein
© achtzigzehn/Hinterleitner
GrazGutschein
© Holding Graz/die Abbilderei
GrazGutschein
© Holding Graz/die Abbilderei
GrazGutschein
© Holding Graz/die Abbilderei
Wir verfolgen den klaren Auftrag, mit der Belebungsoffensive zur Stärkung der Grazer Wirtschaft rasch Unterstützungsmaßnahmen anzubieten.

Siegfried Nagl. Bürgermeister der Stadt Graz

Zur Unterstützung der Grazer Innenstadt setzt Bürgermeister Nagl folgende konkrete Maßnahmen in Abstimmung mit der Abteilung für Wirtschafts- und Tourismusentwicklung um:

  • Unterstützung bei langfristiger Geschäftsbelebung
  • Unterstützung bei Pop up-Nutzung
  • Baustellenförderung
  • Gründerförderung
  • Plattform freielokale-graz.at
  • Subvention „Verein Echt Graz“
  • Förderprojekt GrazLog für einen klimafreundlichen, städtischen Warentransport
  • Förderung von Veranstaltungen und kulturellen Angeboten zur Attraktivierung der Innenstadt
  • Kampagnen zur Stärkung des regionalen Handels („Kauf in Graz“)

 

Zusätzliche Maßnahmen des Citymanagements:

 

Bürgermeister Siegfried Nagl: „Die Erhebung zeigt deutlich, dass das Angebot an Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in der Grazer Innenstadt – auch im österreichweiten Vergleich – mit insgesamt 930 Shops auf einem sehr guten Niveau liegt und die Händlerinnen und Händler in der Grazer City mit einer doch beträchtlichen Gesamtfläche von über 170.000 m2 vertreten sind. Jedoch haben die Auswirkungen der Coronakrise auch für die Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer der Grazer Innenstadt einen enormen Kraftakt dargestellt, weshalb wir den klaren Auftrag verfolgen, mit der Belebungsoffensive zur Stärkung der Grazer Wirtschaft rasch Unterstützungsmaßnahmen anzubieten: Neben der Gründerförderung etwa durch Unterstützungen bei temporären Geschäftsflächennutzungen durch Pop-up-Stores oder mit Förderungen zur langfristigen Belebung von Geschäftsflächen.“

Holding Graz-Marketingleiter Richard Peer: „Mit dem neuen Geschäftsfeld Citymanagement setzt die Holding Graz zahlreiche Akzente im Bereich der Innenstadtbelebung. In den vergangenen Wochen haben wir uns auf die nun angekündigten Öffnungsschritte Mitte Mai vorbereitet. So werden neue Vertriebsaktionen für den GrazGutschein, Filmproduktionen für Innenstadtbetriebe oder auch eine weitere Summer-in-the-City-Kampagne umgesetzt, damit wir den Handel, die Gastronomie und Hotellerie bestmöglich unterstützen.“

Citymanager Heimo Maieritsch: „Wir müssen die Situation in der Innenstadt laufend beobachten – weshalb auch der externe Blick von außen sehr wichtig ist. Parallel dazu gilt es, die Grazer City nach den herausfordernden Monaten wieder nachhaltig zu beleben und dafür zu sorgen, dass die Wertschöpfung in der Region bleibt – etwa mit dem beliebten GrazGutschein, mit dem im Vorjahr mehr als acht Millionen Euro Umsatz erwirtschaftet wurde.“