Skip to main content

Re­fur­bish­ment work in Auer-Wels­bach-Gasse

Baustelle Hinweistafel
© Symbolfoto: Pixabay/Gerd Altmann

Holding Graz is currently working intensively on the refurbishment of the infrastructure in the Styrian provincial capital. In addition to ongoing work relating to the tram in the direction of Smart City and Reininghaus, there are also major projects for the city pending in the area of Ressourcenpark (former Sturzgasse) and Steyrergasse. And there will be building and refurbishment work in Auer-Welsbach-Gasse from Monday (8 March) onwards.

Günter Riegler, city councillor responsible for shareholdings and finances, says in this regard: “In the west of the city, the trams in the direction of Reininghaus and “Smart City Graz” will be expanded by the end of the year. In addition, the straightening out of the city centre through Neutorgasse is on track. With the expansion of Steyrergasse Süd within the framework of the “Maintenance Graz Linien” master plan, another major success will be achieved, one which will have a knock-on effect on the entire district of  Jakomini and the city of Graz. With a total investment in the amount of EUR 156 million over the next 10 years, the development of Steyrergasse South is one of the largest expansion projects of Holding Graz.”

Holding Graz CEO Wolfgang Malik adds: “In order to be able to commence with the construction work at the Steyrergasse Süd premises, some of the existing buildings will have to be demolished. The respective departments of Holding Graz and Energie Graz will, if they cannot be integrated into the new buildings on the premises, be relocated to the premises, among others, in Auer-Welsbach-Gasse.”

Start of construction in Auer-Welsbach-Gasse:

In Auer-Welsbach-Gasse, Holding Graz maintains a logistics site with warehouses and a storage facility for long items. At this site, the former “Rudersdorf gas plant”, municipal gas was produced in the period from 1945 until 1978. The demolition of the facilities was completed in 1984. One of the greatest challenges on the way there is also the elimination of contaminated soil at this site which comes from former gas plants. The current refurbishment project envisages the removal of the soil down to an average depth of approx. 1 m. In total, around 10,000 m³ of soil will be replaced and professionally disposed of. The surface will be restored according to the state of the art and will continue to be used as a storage facility for long items. The measures will be financed from federal funds. The construction work will commence on 8 March 2021 and is planned to be completed in July 2021.

Start of comprehensive information to neighbours:

In the direct vicinity, there may be minor, temporary impairments as a result of the construction work. Holding Graz will notify neighbours about the construction work by post. A point of contact will be set up for the neighbours affected:

Geologie & Grundwasser Gmbh

Engineering firm for technical geology
Mag. Christian Wolf

Auer-Welsbach-Gasse 24/1/4
8055 Graz
[email protected]

Tel.: 0316/24 40 89

COVID-19-Prävention
Alle Infos zu den Maßnahmen der Holding Graz!
Meintest du:

Sa­nie­rungs­ar­bei­ten in der Auer-Wels­bach-Gasse

Baustelle Hinweistafel
© Symbolfoto: Pixabay/Gerd Altmann

Die Holding Graz arbeitet derzeit intensiv an der Erneuerung der Infrastruktur in der steirischen Landeshauptstadt. Neben laufenden Arbeiten im Bereich der Straßenbahn Richtung Smart City und Reininghaus stehen auch im Bereich des Ressourcenparks (ehemalige Sturzgasse) und der Steyrergasse große Projekte für die Stadt an. Und auch in der Auer-Welsbach-Gasse wird ab Montag (8. März) gebaut bzw. saniert.

Beteiligungs- und Finanzstadtrat Günter Riegler dazu: „Im Westen der Stadt werden die Straßenbahnen Richtung Reininghaus und „Smart City Graz“ bis Ende des Jahres ausgebaut. Darüber hinaus ist die Innenstadtentflechtung durch die Neutorgasse auf Schiene. Mit dem Ausbau der Steyrergasse Süd im Rahmen des Masterplans „Maintenance Graz Linien“ gelingt ein weiterer großer Wurf mit Strahlkraft auf den ganzen Bezirk Jakomini und für die Stadt Graz. Mit einer Gesamtinvestition in Höhe von 156 Millionen Euro in den nächsten 10 Jahren ist der Ausbau der Steyrergasse Süd eines der größten Ausbauprojekte der Holding Graz“.

Holding Graz-CEO Wolfgang Malik ergänzt: „Um mit den Bauarbeiten am Areal Steyrergasse Süd beginnen zu können, muss ein Teil der bestehenden Gebäude abgebrochen werden. Die betroffenen Bereiche der Holding Graz und der Energie Graz werden, soweit diese nicht in die Neubauten am Areal integriert werden können, am Areal u.a. in der Auer-Welsbach-Gasse untergebracht“.

Baustart in der Auer-Welsbach-Gasse:

In der Auer-Welsbach-Gasse betreibt die Holding Graz einen Logistikstandort mit Lagerhallen und einem Langgutlager. An diesem Standort, dem ehemaligen „Gaswerk Rudersdorf“, wurde im Zeitraum von 1945 bis 1978 Stadtgas erzeugt. Die Demontage der Anlagen wurde im Jahr 1984 abgeschlossen. Zu den größten Herausforderungen auf dem Weg dorthin gehört auch die Beseitigung von kontaminiertem Erdreich an diesem Standort, welches von früheren Gaswerken stammt. Das aktuelle Sanierungsprojekt sieht den Abtrag des Erdreiches bis in eine mittlere Tiefe von ca. 1 m vor. Insgesamt werden rd. 10.000 m³ Erdreich ausgetauscht und fachgerecht entsorgt. Die Oberfläche wird nach dem Stand der Technik wiederhergestellt und weiterhin als Langgutlager genutzt. Die Maßnahmen werden aus Bundesmitteln gefördert. Die Bauarbeiten beginnen am 8. März 2021 und sollen plangemäß im Juli 2021 abgeschlossen werden.

Umfangreiche Anrainerinformation gestartet:

In der unmittelbaren Nachbarschaft können geringfügige, zeitlich begrenzte Beeinträchtigungen durch die Bauarbeiten nicht ausgeschlossen werden. Seitens der Holding Graz werden Anrainer über Bauarbeiten mittels Postwurfs verständigt. Für die betroffene Nachbarschaft wird eine Kontaktstelle eingerichtet:

Geologie & Grundwasser Gmbh

Ingenieurbüro für technische Geologie
Herr Mag. Christian Wolf

Auer-Welsbach-Gasse 24/1/4
8055 Graz
[email protected]

Tel.: 0316/24 40 89