Skip to main content

Flights to Stuttgart again

Erstflug Eurowings
© Flughafen Graz/

Four times a week, the flight goes to the heart of one of Germany’s most important business locations.

Today, at 7:30 a.m., the first flight from Stuttgart finally landed again at Graz Airport after the long break caused by Corona. The flights are operated with an Airbus A-319 of the Lufthansa subsidiary Eurowings.

Flights are operated every Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

Finance and investment councillor Günter Riegler: “Stuttgart is one of the highest-income and economically most important cities in Germany and Europe. A major economic role is played above all by the large number of companies that act as suppliers for the large, global automotive and mechanical engineering companies. For the Styrian automotive cluster, the flights to Stuttgart are therefore of great importance”.

Holding Graz CEO Wolfgang Malik: “After the Corona-related stopover, our airport is buoyant again and is going into a climb. The Styrian export economy stands for more than 8,000 exporting companies with a goods export volume of € 26 billion and growth rates that are clearly above the rest of Austria. In the future, a number of companies ranging from large international corporations to medium-sized hidden champions in the high-tech sector will benefit from the direct connection to Stuttgart”.

Eurowings CEO Jens Bischof: “We are very pleased to be able to offer Styria a direct Eurowings connection to Stuttgart for the first time with immediate effect. With our four weekly flights from Graz Airport, we are linking the two strong economic and tourist regions even more closely.”  

“With Stuttgart, we now have a third important economic center in Germany directly connected to Graz after Frankfurt and Düsseldorf,” informs Wolfgang Grimus, Managing Director of Graz Airport. “In addition to the strong economic links, Graz and Styria are also a popular tourist destination for vacationers from Baden-Württemberg, Germany’s third-largest state.”

Eurowings, a subsidiary of Lufthansa based in Düsseldorf, has previously flown the Graz – Palma de Mallorca route from Graz Airport. The airline is also a participant in the miles&more frequent flyer program.

www.eurowings.com

(Photo: Wolfgang Grimus/EMBA, Managing Director Graz Airport, DI Wolfgang Malik, Chairman of the Board of Holding Graz and Mag. Jürgen Löschnig, Managing Director Graz Airport welcome the crew of Eurowings/from left to right).

Skip to main content

Wie­der Flü­ge nach Stutt­gart

Erstflug Eurowings
© Flughafen Graz/

Vier Mal pro Woche geht es in das Herz eines der wichtigsten Wirtschaftsstandorte Deutschlands.

Heute, um 07:30 Uhr war es endlich wieder soweit, die erste Maschine aus Stuttgart ist nach der langen Corona-bedingten Pause wieder am Flughafen Graz gelandet. Geflogen wird mit einem Airbus A-319 der Lufthansa-Tochter Eurowings..

Die Flüge werden jeden Montag, Mittwoch, Donnerstag und Freitag durchgeführt.

Finanz- und Beteiligungsstadtrat Günter Riegler: „Stuttgart gehört zu den einkommensstärksten und wirtschaftlich bedeutendsten Städten Deutschlands und Europas. Eine große wirtschaftliche Rolle spielt vor allem die große Anzahl an Firmen, die als Zulieferer für die großen, globalen Automobil- und Maschinenbau-Firmen agieren. Für den steirischen Autocluster sind die Flüge nach Stuttgart daher von großer Wichtigkeit“.

Holding Graz-Vorstandsvorsitzender Wolfgang Malik: „Unser Flughafen hat nach dem Corona bedingten Zwischenstopp wieder Auftrieb und geht in den Steigflug über. Die steirische Exportwirtschaft steht für mehr als 8.000 exportierende Unternehmen mit einem Warenexportvolumen von 26 Mrd. € und Wachstumsraten, die deutlich über Rest-Österreich liegen. Von der direkten Anbindung an Stuttgart profitieren künftig etliche Betriebe vom internationalen Großkonzern bis hin zum mittelständischen Hidden Champion im Hightech-Bereich“.

Eurowings-CEO Jens Bischof: „Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir ab sofort der Steiermark erstmals eine direkte Eurowings-Verbindung nach Stuttgart anbieten können. Mit unseren vier wöchentlichen Flügen ab dem Flughafen Graz verknüpfen wir die beiden starken Wirtschafts- und Touristikregionen noch enger.“  

„Mit Stuttgart haben wir nun nach Frankfurt und Düsseldorf ein drittes wichtiges Wirtschaftszentrum in Deutschland direkt an Graz angebunden“, informiert Wolfgang Grimus, Geschäftsführer des Flughafen Graz. „Neben den starken Wirtschaftsverflechtungen sind Graz und die Steiermark auch ein beliebtes touristisches Ziel für Urlaubsgäste aus Baden-Württemberg, dem drittgrößten Bundesland Deutschlands.“

Eurowings, eine Tochtergesellschaft der Lufthansa mit Sitz in Düsseldorf, ist ab Flughafen Graz bisher  die Strecke Graz – Palma de Mallorca geflogen. Die Fluglinie ist auch Teilnehmer des miles&more – Vielfliegerprogramm.

www.eurowings.com

(Foto: Wolfgang Grimus/EMBA, Geschäftsführer Flughafen Graz, DI Wolfgang Malik, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Holding Graz und Mag. Jürgen Löschnig, Geschäftsführer Flughafen Graz begrüßen die Crew der Eurowings/v. l. n. r.).