Did you mean:

Win­ter road clear­ance

So that Graz residents do not have to worry about icy roads, our winter road clearance team are out and about tirelessly. The goal is to ensure maximum safety on the roads, squares, pavements and cycle paths at all times.

© Holding Graz/Kernasenko

Our win­ter road clear­ance

The differentiated winter road clearance: The goal is to ensure maximum safety on the roads, squares, pavements and cycle paths at all times whilst at the same time reducing the pollution with particulate matter caused by the grit.

The “magic word” for this work of art is “differentiated winter road clearance”. The trigger for the introduction of this concept was the dramatic pollution with particulate matter in the city which was attributed to, amongst other things, the grit ground by car tyres on the roads. “Differentiated” means that the use of resources in the battle against snow is based on the weather conditions but primarily on the importance of the respective road for the flow of traffic.

The clearance of the main transit roads and of the Graz Linien railway network followed by the mountain roads has the greatest priority. Only then are ancillary roads, access routes to residential areas, and cycle paths cleared of snow.

Depending on the temperature, low volumes of snow are combated with grit; clearance vehicles are only used from a snow depth of a few centimetres as otherwise the ploughs and roads would be damaged.

  • Schau auf Graz ("Look at Graz") app

    With "Look at Graz" you yourself can ensure without much effort that the Graz cityscape becomes even more beautiful and cleaner!

How we work

  • A maximum of 76 vehicles of different sizes are in operation
  • 130 people are on duty at any time
  • 70 additional people can be activated
  • We have 5,000 t of basalt grit and 2,600 t of salt in stock
  • We use the wet salt technology FS30
  • We look after 950 km of roads & 125 km of cycle paths
  • We use grit on mountain roads, pavements & cycle paths
  • We remove up to 30 m³ of snow
  • We use up to 5,263 tonnes of salt
  • We spread up to 1,205 tonnes of grit

Obli­ga­tions for pri­vate in­di­vid­u­als

Home owners are obligated to clear snow on pavements. The roofs also have to be cleared of overhangs of snow and ice.

Owners of properties in local areas are obligated to clear snow and contamination from sidewalks, pavements and steps along their property in the time between 6 am and 10 pm and if necessary, to spread grid. If there is no pavement, the edge of the road must be cleared of snow and ice in a width of one metre.

Overhangs of snow and ice formations must also be removed from the roofs. The installation of warning signs or bars leaned against the wall of the house merely constitute an emergency measure. Neglecting these obligations can be expensive. Notifications of omission will be prosecuted pursuant to Section 93 of the Road Traffic Regulation with an administrative fine of €72; suits for compensation after accident could entail considerably higher costs. In this case, the property owner or its agent commissioned with clearing snow could face a charge of negligent physical injury.

All obligations of residents at a glance

Skip to main content

Win­ter­dienst

Damit die eisigen Zeiten den Grazer AutofahrerInnen nicht die Schweißperlen auf die Stirn treiben, ist unser Winterdienst unermüdlich unterwegs. Ziel ist es, jederzeit höchste Sicherheit auf den Straßen, Plätzen, Geh- und Radwegen zu gewährleisten.

Winterdienst
© Holding Graz/Kernasenko

Unser Win­ter­dienst

Der differenzierte Winterdienst: Ziel ist es, bei gleichzeitiger Verringerung der splittbedingten Feinstaubbelastung höchste Sicherheit auf den Straßen, Plätzen, Geh- und Radwegen zu gewährleisten.

Das „Zauberwort“ für dieses Kunststück lautet „differenzierter Winterdienst“. Auslöser für die Einführung dieses Konzepts war die dramatische Feinstaubbelastung in der Stadt, für die unter anderem der von den Autoreifen zerriebene Streusplitt auf den Straßen verantwortlich gemacht wurde. „Differenziert“ bedeutet, dass sich der Einsatz der Mittel im Kampf gegen den Schnee nach den Witterungsverhältnissen, aber vor allem nach der Bedeutung der jeweiligen Straße für den Verkehrsfluss richtet.

Die Räumung der Hauptdurchzugsstraßen und des Graz Linien-Schienennetzes gefolgt von den Bergstraßen hat oberste Priorität. Erst dann werden Nebenstraßen, die Erschließung von Siedlungen und Radwege vom Schnee gereinigt.

Temperaturabhängig werden geringe Schneemengen mit Streumitteln bekämpft, Räumfahrzeuge können erst ab einer Schneehöhe von einigen Zentimetern zum Einsatz kommen, da sonst die Pflüge und Straßen beschädigt werden.

  • Schau auf Graz-App

    Mit „Schau auf Graz“ kannst Du selbst ohne viel Aufwand dafür sorgen, dass das Grazer Stadtbild noch schöner und sauberer wird!

Wie wir ar­bei­ten

  • 76 Fahrzeuge unterschiedlicher Größe sind maximal im Einsatz
  • 130 Mann sind jederzeit einsatzbereit
  • 70 weitere Personen sind aktivierbar
  • 5.000 t Basaltsplitt und 2.600 t Salz haben wir lagernd
  • Wir setzen die Feuchtsalztechnologie FS30 ein
  • Wir pflegen 950 Kilometer Straßen & 125 Kilometer Radwege
  • Wir setzen Splitt auf Bergstraßen, Gehflächen & Radwegen ein
  • Wir führen bis zu 30 m³ Schnee ab
  • Wir setzen bis zu 5.263 Tonnen Salz ein
  • Wir streuen bis zu 1.205 Tonnen Splitt

Pflich­ten für Pri­va­te

HausbesitzerInnen sind zur Schneeräumung auf Gehsteigen verpflichtet. Auch die Dächer müssen von Wächten und Eis gereinigt werden.

Eigentümer von Liegenschaften in Ortsgebieten sind verpflichtet, in der Zeit zwischen 6 und 22 Uhr Gehsteige, Gehwege und Stiegenanlagen entlang ihrer Liegenschaft von Schnee und Verunreinigungen zu säubern und, wenn nötig, Streumittel aufzubringen. Gibt es keinen Gehsteig, muss der Straßenrand in einer Breite von einem Meter von Schnee und Eis befreit werden.

Auch Schneewächten und Eisbildungen müssen von den Dächern entfernt werden. Das Aufstellen von Warnhinweisen oder an die Hauswand gelehnte Latten stellen lediglich eine Sofortmaßnahme dar. Die Vernachlässigung dieser Pflichten kann teuer zu stehen kommen. Versäumnisanzeigen werden nach § 93 der Straßenverkehrsordnung mit einer Verwaltungsstrafe in Höhe von 72 Euro geahndet, Schadenersatzklagen nach Unfällen können ungleich höhere Kosten nach sich ziehen. Dem Liegenschaftseigentümer bzw. dessen mit der Schneeräumung Beauftragtem droht in diesem Fall eine Anzeige wegen fahrlässiger Körperverletzung.

Alle AnrainerInnenverpflichtungen auf einen Blick