Skip to main content

Com­pa­ny

As a modern and efficient service company, we provide our services for the people and companies in Graz and the surrounding area. As the second largest municipal company in Austria, we are thus shaping our future together!

1. Bezirk, Innere Stadt,  Oesterreich,  Steiermark,  Europa, Architektur, Betrieb, Buerogebaeude, Gebaeude, Bauwerk, Grazer Stadtwerke AG, Haus, Holzhaus, City, Innenstadt, downtown, Outdoor, Siedlung, Unternehmen, Betrieb, Urbaner Lebensraum, Wirtschaft, .2005, 216118, G2425
©

About us

  • Our focus is on the requirements of our customers. They are always at the heart of whatever we do. With them, we work in a solution and results-oriented way.
  • We keep Graz running, day in, day out: our competencies incorporate public transport, water and waste management, cleanliness, energy supply, leisure facilities and much more.
  • The city of Graz holds 99.84 per cent of the shares in Holding Graz; Gebäude und Baumanagement Graz GmbH (GBG) holds the remaining 0.16 per cent.
1960

Establishment

Establishment of Grazer Stadtwerke AG with the divisions "Transport operations", "Electricity", "Gas", "District heating" and "Water". For the first time, urban gas is produced using an oil splitting plant.

1962/63

Horizontal filter well

The first modern horizontal filter well is available at Feldkirchen waterworks.

1963

District heat supply

The district heat supply commences operations in Graz. Graz district heating power plant in Puchstraße provides the first customers with district heat.

1966

Electricity hub

Graz-West substation is put into operation and forms the most important hub of the Graz electricity supply. The ripple control system facilitates the central switching of the public lighting, the hot water boilers and the electric heating.

1971

Water from the Hochschwab

To safeguard the drinking water supply in the Graz region, the Water Association Hochschwab South is established.

1976

Water is turned on

Graz and the ten municipalities surrounding the city join forces to form the "Water Federation Graz Region".

1978

Graz gets going!

There is the changeover from the supply of municipal gas to direct supply with natural gas.

1981

District heating becomes more attractive

The District Heating Promotion Act is introduced. Among others, it makes provision for favourable tax treatment of the conversion to district heating supply.

1985

Growth

The divisions "Bestattung“, "Sport and leisure facilities and food service companies" are integrated into the public limited company. Grazer Stadtwerke AG takes over the company "Ankünder Steiermärkische Ankündigungsgesellschaft m.b.H.".

1988/89

Funding of district heating

Due to the winter smog situation in Graz, a district heating funding package is created, with participation from the province of Styria, the city of Graz and Grazer Stadtwerke AG.

1990

Modern electricity

Keplerbrücke substation as the most modern of its type in Austria commences operations and receives the state prize for good industrial construction.

1992

Taxi offensive

The Graz Anruf-Sammel-Taxi (collective taxi service) carries out its first trips in the areas of Lustbühel/Ruckerlberg and Andritz.

1993

Expansion of leisure

Grazer Stadtwerke AG founds "Freizeitbetriebe der Grazer Stadtwerke GmbH" and operates the Eggenberg leisure centre. For the first time, drinking water is fed from the Hochschwab into the Graz network.

1994

Expansion of Castle Mountain railway

Graz Castle Mountain Railway celebrates its 100-year anniversary. In the same year, the stations are redesigned and expanded so that they are wheelchair-friendly.

1997

Incorporations

The "Sport, leisure facilities and food service“ division is incorporated into "Freizeitbetriebe der Grazer Stadtwerke GmbH“. "Bestattung", "Citykom“ and "Grazer Energieagentur GmbH“ are also incorporated.

1998

High-level tank

After a construction period of 3 years, the new high-level tank in Rosenberg is handed over for its designated purpose. The storage quota thus increases from 45 to 70 per cent of the average daily water requirement.

1999

Focus on electricity

The electric tram in Graz celebrates its 100-year anniversary. Electricity distribution network is brought up to a state-of-the-art standard. Sales partnership for electricity is established with STEWEAG; electricity is sold under brand “select".

2001

New workshop, new swimming pool

After a two-year construction period, the new GVB bus workshop with a modern wash facility is opened in Kärntnerstraße. "Bad zur Sonne" swimming pool is incorporated into swimming pool operations of Grazer Freizeitbetriebe.

2002/I

Establishments in water and energy

The water service company “Styrian Aqua Service GmbH” is established as a fully owned subsidiary. Grazer Stadtwerke Energie Holding is established in anticipation of the impending spin-off of the energy divisions to Energie Graz GmbH.

2002/II

Establishment of Energie Graz

The spin-off of the divisions Electricity, Natural Gas and District Heating to Energie Graz GmbH takes place on 1 August. With the spin-off, the owner structure is changed so that the city of Graz now holds 99.46% and GBG 0.54% of the shares.

2003

Movement at Linien and spa

First "Nightline" commences service, cabrio bus makes its first journey and there are first info pillars for passengers. On the Schöckl plateau, the toboggan run ("Witches' Express") is opened. In the "Bad zur Sonne", the "Spa zur Sonne“ is opened.

2004/I

Airport acquisition

Grazer Stadtwerke AG acquires a 100% stake in the airport, the 3rd generation of the Castle Mountain railway is put into operation. The new Mobility Centre is available at the Jakominiplatz. Grazer Bestattung opens a modern branch at the urn cemetery

2004/II

New structures

New structures in the organisation are implemented. The 5 core competencies of the Group are now Transport, Eco Service, Energy, Communication & Advertising as well as Municipal Services (with Leisure and Bestattung).

2005

Expansion of airport and Ankünder

The new terminal is opened at Graz airport. The advertising company "Der Ankünder", which is already the market leader in Croatia and Slovenia, expands its foreign activities.

2006

Line 5 starts, water new

The extended tram line 5 is put into operation, the renovation of the lead domestic connections is completed. The specifications from the Drinking Water Regulation are thus already implemented 6 years before the deadline stipulated by law.

2007/I

New lines, new railways

The extended tram lines 4 and 6 are opened. The local transport hub "Don Bosco" is put into operation as an intersection to the new suburban railway. Forty-five new trams ("Variobahn") are ordered.

2007/II

Competition and takeover

The new Castle Mountain restaurant is opened. A Europe-wide architecture competition starts for the new Eggenberg sport and wellness pool. 49% of AEVG Abfall-Entsorgungs- und Verwertungs GmbH is transferred. A 99% stake is now held.

2008

Graz AG as a new name

In a meeting of municipal council on 8 Mai 2008, application for change in articles of association of Grazer Stadtwerke AG was decided. Since 21 May 2008, Grazer Stadtwerke AG has operated under the new name GRAZ AG Stadtwerke für kommunale Dienste.

2010

Graz AG becomes Holding

On 29 June, the conversion of GRAZ AG to a limited company was decided at the general meeting. Since 30 October, the company has been operating under the new name "Holding Graz - Kommunale Dienstleistungen GmbH".

2011

New pillars and tasks

Holding Graz builds on 3 pillars: "Management/Shareholdings", "Lines/Energy", "Services", supplemented by waste, waste management, road maintenance, street cleaning, winter road clearance, maintenance of green spaces, from city administration/AEVG.

2012/I

Mission statement and families

For the first time, a mission statement is developed, company health promotion measures are introduced and a sustainability management is set up. The family friendliness of the company is checked based on a comprehensive catalogue of criteria.

2012/II

Opening of shed in Steyrergasse

With the opening of the shed in Steyrergasse on 12 March a future-oriented investment is made in the expansion of the infrastructure and at the same time a modern office building with ideal work conditions created for the employees.

2013/I

Award and partnership

Holding is awarded a prize as one of the most women- and family-friendly companies in Styria. Almost a third of the fleet is electrically powered. "Der Ankünder" enters into a mutual partnership with Gewista/JDecaux.

2013/II

Security and cleanliness

The first video cameras in vehicles of Graz Linien are put into operation. The Urban Space division starts first standardised cleanliness analysis; here, Graz holds a good position in the middle ranks. Image campaign “City of my life” is launched.

2014

New buildings and apprentices

Year is characterised by first steps for the new construction of the municipal workshops, the start for the “Sturzgasse master plan”, the finished local transport hub at the central station & an apprentice offensive with the city of Graz & the AMS.

2015

E-mobility and online activity

A pilot project starts with e-buses; outdoor swimming pools become non-smoking zones, the “Graz annual ticket” is presented. The ticket shop goes online, the free-of-charge apps “qando Graz" and "sAPPerlott" (now "Look at Graz") are presented.

2016

Change in pillars and "tim" start

Restructuring of the three pillars: New: “Management & shareholdings”, “Infrastructure & Energy” and “Mobility & Leisure”. The first “tim” location at Hasnerplatz is opened. Graz Linien test e-buses with rapid-charging super condensers.

2017

Reservoir sewer and cleanliness

Start of construction for the “Central reservoir sewer”; with it, the “Mur biotope” project also starts. Four other "tim" locations are opened. The cleanliness offensive including the installation of an “„OmPUTZmann“ is also new.

2018

Clean and environmentally friendly

The successful cleanliness offensive is continued. New “tim” locations are opened in Graz. Outside of Graz, “REGIOtim” starts. Graz Linien start with "move2zero", a project for the decarbonisation of the bus fleet.

2019

Start of the public transport offensive

Starting signal is given for the public transport offensive (e.g. alleviation of the traffic situation in the city centre). The Augartenbucht is opened (“Mur biotope”), “Modern Urban Mobility MUM 2030+“ commences its work. Also new: "Graz waste app".

2020

Focus on the city centre

COVID-19 presents a huge challenge for Holding. The "city management“ is integrated into the marketing department of Holding Graz. Promotions with the Graz Voucher are successful. The winning project is selected for the redesign of the Thalersee.

Get to know us

Ser­vice for busi­ness­es

We de­vel­op Graz fur­ther

Here we tell you what we are currently working on and all that we are doing to make Graz even more livable and lovable.

Skip to main content

Un­ter­neh­men

Die Holding Graz ist ein modernes und effizientes Dienstleistungsunternehmen und erbringt mit ihren MitarbeiterInnen Tag für Tag außergewöhnliche Leistungen für die Menschen und Unternehmen in Graz und der näheren Umgebung. Somit schaffen wir es, als zweitgrößter kommunaler Dienstleister Österreichs, gemeinsam unsere Zukunft zu gestalten!

1. Bezirk, Innere Stadt, Oesterreich, Steiermark, Europa, Architektur, Betrieb, Buerogebaeude, Gebaeude, Bauwerk, Grazer Stadtwerke AG, Haus, Holzhaus, City, Innenstadt, downtown, Outdoor, Siedlung, Unternehmen, Betrieb, Urbaner Lebensraum, Wirtschaft, .2005, 216118, G2425
© Holding Graz/Jungwirth

Über uns

  • Die Bedürfnisse unserer KundInnen sind für uns oberste Priorität und stehen daher immer im Mittelpunkt unserer Bemühungen. Es ist stets unser Anliegen mit Ihnen lösungs- und ergebnisorientiert zu arbeiten, um klare Aufklärungsansätze zu definieren und Probleme effizient zu lösen.
  • Wir halten Graz Tag für Tag am Laufen: Unsere Kernkompetenzen umfassen den Öffentlichen Verkehr, Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft, Sauberkeit, Energieversorgung, Freizeitbetriebe und vieles mehr.
  • Die Stadt Graz hält 99,84 Prozent der Anteile an der Holding Graz. Die Gebäude und Baumanagement Graz GmbH (GBG) hält die restlichen 0,16 Prozent.
1960

Gründung

Gründung der Grazer Stadtwerke AG mit den Geschäftsbereichen „Verkehrsbetriebe“, „Strom“, „Gas“, „Fernwärme“ und „Wasser“. Erstmals produziert man Stadtgas mittels einer Ölspaltanlage.

1962/63

Horizontalfilterbrunnen

Im Wasserwerk Feldkirchen steht der erste moderne Horizontalfilterbrunnen zur Verfügung.

1963

Fernwärmeversorgung

Die Fernwärmeversorgung nimmt in Graz ihren Betrieb auf. Das Fernheizkraftwerk Graz in der Puchstraße versorgt die ersten KundInnen mit Fernwärme.

1966

Strom-Knotenpunkt

Das Umspannwerk Graz-West geht in Betrieb und bildet den wichtigsten Knoten der Grazer Stromversorgung. Die Rundsteueranlage ermöglicht die zentrale Schaltung der öffentlichen Beleuchtung, der Warmwasserboiler und der Elektroheizungen.

1971

Wasser vom Hochschwab

Zur Sicherung der Trinkwasserversorgung im Raum Graz wird Wasserverbandes Hochschwab-Süd gegründet.

1976

Wasser marsch!

Graz und seine zehn Umlandgemeinden schließen sich zum Wasserverband Umland Graz zusammen.

1978

Graz gibt Gas!

Es erfolgt die Umstellung der Gasversorgung von Stadtgas auf Direktversorgung mit Erdgas.

1981

Fernwärme-Attraktivierung

Das Fernwärmeförderungsgesetz wird eingeführt. Es sieht u.a. eine steuerliche Begünstigung für die Umrüstung auf Fernwärmeversorgung vor.

1985

Wachstum

Die Geschäftsbereiche „Bestattung“, „Sport-, Freizeitanlagen und Gastronomiebetriebe“ gliedern sich in die Aktiengesellschaft ein. Die Grazer Stadtwerke AG übernimmt die Firma „Ankünder Steiermärkische Ankündigungsgesellschaft m.b.H.“.

1988/89

Fernwärme-Förderung

Aufgrund der winterlichen Smogsituation in Graz erstellt man ein Fernwärme-Förderungspaket, an dem sich das Land Steiermark, die Stadt Graz und die Grazer Stadtwerke AG beteiligen.

1990

Moderner Strom

Das Umspannwerk Keplerbrücke nimmt als modernstes seiner Art in Österreich den Betrieb auf und erhält den Staatspreis für gutes industrielles Bauen.

1992

Taxi-Offensive

Das Grazer Anruf-Sammel-Taxi führt seine ersten Fahrten in den Gebieten Lustbühel/Ruckerlberg und Andritz durch.

1993

Freizeit-Ausbau

Die Grazer Stadtwerke AG gründet die „Freizeitbetriebe der Grazer Stadtwerke GmbH“ und betreibt das Freizeitzentrum Eggenberg. Erstmals wird Trinkwasser vom Hochschwab in das Grazer Netz eingespeist.

1994

Ausbau Schloßbergbahn

Die Grazer Schloßbergbahn feiert ihr 100-jähriges Bestehen. Im gleichen Jahr werden die Stationen neu gestaltet und behindertengerecht ausgebaut.

1997

Eingliederungen

Der Bereich „Sport-, Freizeitanlagen und Gastronomiebetriebe“ wird in die „Freizeitbetriebe der Grazer Stadtwerke GmbH“ eingebracht. Auch die Bestattung, die „Citycom“ und die „Grazer Energieagentur GmbH“ werden eingegliedert.

1998

Hochbehälter

Nach einer Bauzeit von 3 Jahren wird der neue Hochbehälter Rosenberg seiner Bestimmung übergeben. Die Speicherquote steigt dadurch von 45 auf 70 Prozent des durchschnittlichen täglichen Wasserbedarfes.

1999

Schwerpunkt Strom

Die elektrische Straßenbahn in Graz feiert ihr 100-jähriges Jubiläum. Das Strom-Verteilnetz wird auf den modernsten Standard gebracht. Mit der STEWEAG wird eine Vertriebspartnerschaft für Strom gegründet, Strom wird unter der Marke „select“ verkauft.

2001

Neue Werkstätte, neues Bad

Nach zweijähriger Bauzeit wird in der Kärntnerstraße die neue GVB-Autobuswerkstätte mit moderner Waschstraße eröffnet. Das Bad zur Sonne wird in den Bäderbetrieb der Grazer Freizeitbetriebe eingegliedert.

2002/I

Wasser- und Energie-Gründungen

Die Wasserdienstleistungsgesellschaft „Styrian Aqua Service GmbH“ wird als 100 %-Tochter gegründet. Vorausblickend auf die bevorstehende Abspaltung der Energiebereiche in die Energie Graz GmbH wird die Grazer Stadtwerke Energie Holding gegründet.

2002/II

Gründung Energie Graz

Die Abspaltung der Bereiche Strom, Erdgas und Fernwärme in die Energie Graz GmbH erfolgt am 1. August. Mit der Abspaltung verändert sich die Eigentümerstruktur dahingehend, dass nunmehr die Stadt Graz 99,46 % und die GBG 0,54 % Anteile halten.

2003

Bewegung bei Linien und Spa

Die erste „Nightline“ fährt, ebenso nimmt der Cabriobus Fahrt auf und es gibt erste Info-Stelen für Fahrgäste. Am Plateau des Schöckls wird die Rodelbahn („Hexenexpress“) eröffnet. Im Bad zur Sonne wird das „Spa zur Sonne“ eröffnet.

2004/I

Flughafen-Erwerb

Die Grazer Stadtwerke AG erwirbt den Flughafen Graz zu 100 %, die 3. Generation der Schloßbergbahn geht in Betrieb. Am Jakominiplatz steht das neue Mobilitätszentrum zur Verfügung. Die Grazer Bestattung eröffnet eine moderne Filiale am Urnenfriedhof.

2004/II

Neue Strukturen

Neue Strukturen in der Organisation werden implementiert. Die 5 Kernkompetenzen des Konzerns sind nun Verkehr, Ökoservice, Energie, Kommunikation & Werbung sowie Kommunale Services (mit Freizeit und Bestattung).

2005

Ausbau von Flughafen und Ankünder

Am Flughafen Graz wird der neue Terminal eröffnet. Die Werbefirma „Der Ankünder“, die in Kroatien und Slowenien bereits Marktführer fungiert, baut ihre Auslandsaktivitäten aus.

2006

Linie 5 startet, Wasser neu

Die verlängerte Straßenbahnlinie 5 geht in Betrieb, die Erneuerung der Blei-Hausanschlüsse ist abgeschlossen. Damit sind bereits 6 Jahre vor dem gesetzlich vorgegebenen Termin die Vorgaben aus der Trinkwasserverordnung umgesetzt.

2007/I

Neue Linien, neue Bahnen

Die verlängerten Straßenbahnlinien 4 und 6 werden eröffnet. Der Nahverkehrsknotenpunkt Don Bosco geht als Schnittpunkt zur neuen S-Bahn in Betrieb. Es werden 45 neue Straßenbahnen („Variobahn“) bestellt.

2007/II

Wettbewerb und Übernahme

Das neue Schloßbergrestaurant wird eröffnet. Für das neue Sport- und Wellnessbad Eggenberg startet ein europaweiter Architekturwettbewerb. 49 % der AEVG Abfall-Entsorgungs- und VerwertungsGmbH werden übertragen. Damit besitzt man nun 99 %.

2008

Graz AG als neuer Name

In der Sitzung des Gemeinderates vom 8. Mai 2008 wurde der Antrag auf Änderung der Satzung der Grazer Stadtwerke AG beschlossen. Seit dem 21.Mai 2008 firmiert die Grazer Stadtwerke AG unter dem neuen Namen GRAZ AG Stadtwerke für kommunale Dienste.

2010

Aus Graz AG wird die Holding

Am 29. Juni wird in der Hauptversammlung die Umwandlung der GRAZ AG in eine Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung beschlossen. Seit dem 30. Oktober firmiert das Unternehmen nun unter dem neuen Namen "Holding Graz - Kommunale Dienstleistungen GmbH".

2011

Neue Säulen und Aufgaben

Die Holding Graz baut auf drei Säulen: Die Sparten "Management/Beteiligungen", "Linien/Energie", "Services". Abfall-, Abwasserwirtschaft, Straßenerhaltung, Straßenreinigung, Winterdienst, Grünraumpflege kommen als Bereiche von der Stadt/AEVG dazu.

2012/I

Leitbild und Familien

Erstmals wird ein Leitbild entwickelt, die betriebliche Gesundheitsförderung wird eingeführt und ein Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement aufgebaut. Mit einem umfangreichen Kriterienkatalog wird die Familienfreundlichkeit des Unternehmens geprüft.

2012/II

Eröffnung Remise Steyrergasse

Mit der Eröffnung der Remise in der Steyrergasse am 12. März wird zukunftsweisend in die Erweiterung der Infrastruktur investiert und gleichzeitig ein modernes Bürogebäude mit optimalen Arbeitsbedingungen für die MitarbeiterInnen erschaffen.

2013/I

Prämierung und Partnerschaft

Die Holding wird als einer der frauen- und familienfreundlichsten steirischen Betriebe prämiert. Beinahe ein Drittel des Fuhrparks fährt elektrisch. „Der Ankünder“ geht eine wechselseitige Partnerschaft mit Gewista/JDDecaux ein.

2013/II

Sicherheit und Sauberkeit

Die ersten Videokameras in Fahrzeugen der Graz Linien gehen in Betrieb. Der Spartenbereich Stadtraum startet die erste genormte Sauberkeitsanalyse, dabei liegt Graz im guten Mittelfeld. Die Imagekampagne „Stadt meines Lebens“ wird gestartet.

2014

Neubauten und Lehrlinge

Das Jahr ist geprägt von ersten Schritten für den Neubau der Kommunalwerkstätten, vom Start für den „Masterplan Sturzgasse“, der fertiggestellten Nahverkehrsdrehscheibe am Hauptbahnhof und einer Lehrlingsoffensive mit der Stadt Graz und dem AMS.

2015

E-Mobilität und Online-Aktivität

Mit E-Bussen startet ein Pilotprojekt, Freibäder werden rauchfrei, die "Jahreskarte Graz" wird vorgestellt. Der Ticketshop geht online, die Gratis-Apps "qando Graz" und "sAPPerlott" (nun "Schau auf Graz") werden präsentiert.

2016

Änderung Säulen und "tim"-Start

Umstrukturierung der drei Säulen: Neu: "Management & Beteiligungen", "Infrastruktur & Energie" und "Mobilität & Freizeit". Der erste „tim“-Standort am Hasnerplatz wird eröffnet. Die Graz Linien testen E-Busse mit schnell ladenden Superkondensatoren.

2017

Speicherkanal und Sauberkeit

Baustart beim „Zentralen Speicherkanal“, damit startet auch das Projekt „Lebensraum Mur“. Vier weitere "tim"-Standorte werden eröffnet. Neu ist auch die Sauberkeitsoffensive inklusive der Installierung eines „OmPUTZmannes“.

2018

Sauber und umweltfreundlich

Die erfolgreiche Sauberkeitsoffensive wird fortgesetzt. Neue „tim“-Standorte werden in Graz eröffnet, außerhalb von Graz startet „REGIOtim“. Die Graz Linien starten mit "move2zero" ein Projekt zur Dekarbonisierung der Busflotte.

2019

Start der Öffi-Offensive

Es fällt der Startschuss zur Öffi-Offensive (u. a. Entflechtung Innenstadt). Die Augartenbucht wird eröffnet („Lebensraum Mur“), die Projektgesellschaft „Moderne Urbane Mobilität MUM 2030+“ nimmt ihre Tätigkeit auf. Auch neu: Die „Graz Abfall“-App.

2020

Innenstadt im Fokus

COVID-19 fordert die Holding enorm. Das „Citymanagement“ wird in die Marketingabteilung der Holding Graz eingegliedert. Aktionen mit dem GrazGutschein sind erfolgreich. Für die Neugestaltung des Thalersees wird das Siegerprojekt gekürt.

Un­se­re Ser­vices für Sie

Ser­vice für Un­ter­neh­me­rIn­nen

Graz der Zu­kunft

Hier verraten wir, woran wir gerade arbeiten und was wir alles tun, um Graz noch lebenswerter und liebenswerter zu machen.