Did you mean:

Air­port as an eco­nom­ic hub

It is not only for passengers that Graz airport is the “gateway to the world” – it is also crucial for businesses. Because our airport is also an essential part of Styria as an economic location.

© Flughafen Graz/Krug

Many companies in Styria and particular in the Graz municipal region are highly export-oriented. On the one hand, they need good passenger flight connections and on the other, and in particular, a good network of cargo connections. And that is what Graz airport can guarantee as it offers around 20 daily air cargo connections, meaning our airport has ideal links to the global cargo network.

For 20 years, Graz airport has had one of the most modern cargo infrastructures in south-eastern Europe – plus perfect motorway links. Transport from and to most European airports is thus possible within 24 hours.

However, Graz airport is not only important for other businesses, it is also of great significance as a company itself. Calculations show that, for every person who works for the airport or one of the companies located there, three other persons are employed. Five thousand Styrian jobs are directly connected to the airport.

And: Every one million euros of gross value added which is generated at Graz airport is also supplemented by around three million euros additionally of gross value added of other companies. In total, our airport generates gross value added of EUR 700 million!

Skip to main content

Wirt­schafts­dreh­schei­be Flug­ha­fen

Der Flughafen Graz ist nicht nur für Reisende das „Tor zur Welt“ – er ist es auch für Wirtschaftstreibende. Denn unser Flughafen ist ein unverzichtbar wichtiger Teil des Wirtschaftsstandortes Steiermark.

Flughafen Graz
© Flughafen Graz/Krug

Viele Unternehmen in der Steiermark und speziell im Großraum Graz agieren stark exportorientiert. Sie brauchen einerseits gute Passierflugverbindungen, vor allem aber ein gutes Netz an Cargoverbindungen. Und die kann der Flughafen Graz garantieren, bietet man doch rund 20 tägliche Luftfrachtverbindungen, womit unser Flughafen ideal an das globale Frachtnetz angebunden ist.

Seit mittlerweile 20 Jahren verfügt der Flughafen Graz über eine der modernsten Cargo-Infrastrukturen in Süd-Ost-Europa – und das mit perfekter Autobahnanbindung. Dadurch sind Transporte von und zu den meisten europäischen Flughäfen innerhalb von 24 Stunden möglich.

Der Flughafen Graz ist aber nicht nur für andere Wirtschaftsbetriebe wichtig, er ist auch selbst als Unternehmen von großer Bedeutung. Berechnungen zeigen, dass für jede Person, die für den Flughafen oder eines der dort niedergelassenen Unternehmen arbeitet, drei weitere Jobs ausgelastet werden. 5.000 steirische Arbeitsplätze sind unmittelbar mit dem Flughafen verbunden.

Und: Für jede Million Euro Bruttowertschöpfung, die am Flughafen Graz erwirtschaftet wird, kommen rund drei Millionen Euro zusätzlich an Bruttowertschöpfung anderer Unternehmen hinzu. Insgesamt generiert unser Flughafen eine Bruttowertschöpfung von 700 Millionen Euro!