Skip to main content

Cen­tral reser­voir sewer

At the beginning of October 2017, the starting signal was given in Graz for one of the most important infrastructure projects of the last decades – the construction of the central reservoir sewer (ZSK). This sustainable project will ensure after its completion in 2022 that the Mur becomes even cleaner.

Zentraler Speicherkanal
© achtzigzehn

In Graz we have a so-called mixed-water sewer system – rainwater and dirty water run into the sewer at the same time and are mixed there with the waste water from Graz households and commercial enterprises. This is not generally a problem – as the waste water flows into the sewer system of the city of Graz and is cleaned there.

But: On around 50 days of the year, it rains so much in Graz that the sewer can no longer take up all the waste water and this therefore flows into the Mur. The consequence is a heavy burden on the water quality in the Mur – 660,000 kilogrammes of pollutants are currently still washed into the Mur untreated. Specifically: If the amount of pollutants that land in the Mur in this way every year is extrapolated, it corresponds to the annual waste water volume of a city with 28,000 inhabitants!

Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Kajetan Beutle, Head of the Graz Water Management division says on this: “The central reservoir sewer is one of the largest projects of the city of Graz in the field of environmental protection. We can be proud of that!”

As soon as the ZSK is in operation, the number of days on which pollutants are washed into the Mur will be reduced by at least 80%. This will mean that the pollutants that are washed into the Mur will be reduced by at least 50%. And that in turn will enhance the quality of life for people and animals.

Info on the trial operation of the Central Storage Channel from September 2021 can be found here!

The most important figures on the reservoir sewer
Construction costsEUR 81.4 million
Reservoir volume94,000 m3
Investments in conservationapprox. €1 million

Further information on this can also be found on the website of the central reservoir sewer.

Skip to main content

Zen­tra­ler Spei­cher­ka­nal

Anfang Oktober 2017 fiel in Graz der Startschuss zu einem der wichtigsten Infrastrukturprojekte der letzten Jahrzehnte – dem Bau des Zentralen Speicherkanals (ZSK). Dieses nachhaltige Projekt wird nach seiner Fertigstellung im Jahr 2022 dafür sorgen, dass die Mur noch sauberer wird.

Zentraler Speicherkanal
© achtzigzehn

In Graz haben wir eine sogenannte Mischwasserkanalisation – Regenwasser und verschmutztes Wasser rinnen gleichermaßen in den Kanal und vermischen sich dort mit dem Abwasser aus den Grazer Haushalten und Gewerbebetrieben. Grundsätzlich kein Problem – fließt das Abwasser doch in die Kläranlage der Stadt Graz und wird dort gereinigt.

Aber: An rund 50 Tagen des Jahres regnet es in Graz so stark, dass der Kanal nicht mehr das gesamte Abwasser aufnehmen kann und dieses daher in die Mur fließt. Die Folge ist eine starke Belastung der Wasserqualität der Mur – 660.000 Kilogramm Schmutzstoffe werden derzeit noch pro Jahr unbehandelt in die Mur geleitet. Konkret: Rechnet man die Schmutzfracht, die jährlich so in die Mur fließt hoch, entspricht sie der jährlichen Abwassermenge einer Stadt mit 28.000 EinwohnerInnen!

Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Kajetan Beutle, Spartenbereichsleiter Graz Wasserwirtschaft, dazu: „Der Zentrale Speicherkanal ist eines der größten Projekte der Stadt Graz im Bereich Umweltschutz. Darauf können wir stolz sein!“

Sobald der ZSK in Betrieb ist, wird die Zahl der Tage, an denen Schmutzfracht in die Mur fließt, um mindestens 80 % reduziert. Damit wird die Schmutzfracht, die in die Mur gelangt, um mindestens 50 % reduziert. Und das wiederum steigert die Lebensqualität von Menschen und Tieren.

Die wichtigsten Zahlen zum Speicherkanal
Baukosten81,4 Millionen Euro
Speichervolumen94.000 m3
Investitionen in den Naturschutzca. 1 Million Euro

 

Nähere Informationen dazu finden Sie auch auf der Webseite des Zentralen Speicherkanals.