Skip to main content

Air­labs drone test­ing areas

The future belongs to drones – this is not a promotional line, it will become reality soon. Because these high-tech flying objects can do much more than just take private film recordings or film for TV documentaries.

© Unsplash/Jason Blackeye

Drones equipped with thermal imaging cameras can be used, for instance in the construction or real estate sector to detect, for example, sources of heat, leaky insulation or potential sources of fire.

In agriculture, the use of drones to spray plants has already been successfully tested, particularly on steep vineyards.

And of course drones can also be universally used as a means of transport. However, before the “serial” use can be started, it must be thoroughly tested. And Holding Graz together with its shareholdings Graz airport and Citycom Graz is of course on board there.

Holding Graz is namely one of the project partners of the company “AIRlabs Austria GmbH”. Over the next few years, it will be testing the operation of so-called UAS (“Unmanned Aircraft Systems”) under real conditions.

“‘Drone traffic on new levels’ has a special position in the mobility strategy of Holding. Drones are to be used in modern and environment-oriented city logistics. In particular where vital transport and quick organisation are necessary. In the health sector with transplants, medicines or in the monitoring and surveying of infrastructures, support of our emergency services or ‘just-in-time’ deliveries in the city,” says Wolfgang Malik, CEO of Holding Graz.

In addition to the six associates (FACC Operations GmbH, Frequentis AG, AIT – Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, Carinthian University of Applied Sciences, Graz University of Technology and JOANNEUM University of Applied Sciences), a total of 19 consortium partners from science, industry and consumers are working on the AIRlabs Austria project.

Skip to main content

Airl­abs Droh­nen­test­ge­bie­te

Die Zukunft gehört den Drohnen – kein Stehsatz, sondern bald Realität. Denn diese hochtechnologischen Flugkörper können weit mehr als nur private Filmaufnahmen oder etwa für TV-Dokumentationen zu machen.

Drohne Airlabs
© Unsplash/Jason Blackeye

Mit Wärmebildkameras ausgestattete Drohnen können etwa im Bau- und Immobilienbereich eingesetzt werden, um etwa Wärmequellen, undichte Isolationen oder potenzielle Brandherde zu erkennen.

In der Landwirtschaft ist der Einsatz von Drohnen zur Planzenbesprühung bereits erfolgreich geprüft worden, vor allem bei steilen Weinbergen.

Und natürlich können Drohnen auch als Transportmittel universell eingesetzt werden. Bevor aber der „serienmäßige“ Einsatz gestartet werden kann, muss ausgiebig getestet werden. Und da ist die Holding Graz zusammen mit ihren Beteiligungen Flughafen Graz und Citycom Graz natürlich mit an Bord.

Die Holding Graz ist nämlich eine der ProjektpartnerInnen der Firma „AIRlabs Austria GmbH“. Diese testet in den nächsten Jahren den Betrieb sogenannter UAS („Unmanned Aircraft Systems“) unter realen Bedingungen.

„In der Mobilitätsstrategie der Holding nimmt ,Drohnenverkehr auf neuen Ebenen‘ eine besondere Stellung ein. Drohnen sollen in der modernen und umweltorientierten City-Logistik eingesetzt werden. Vor allem dort, wo lebenswichtige Transporte und schnelle Organisationen erfolgen müssen. Im Gesundheitsbereich mit Transplantaten, Arzneimitteln oder bei der Überwachung und Erhebung von Infrastrukturen, Unterstützung von unseren Einsatzorganisationen oder ,Just in time‘-Zustellungen in der Stadt, so DI Wolfgang Malik, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Holding Graz.

Am Projekt AIRlabs Austria arbeiten neben den sechs GesellschafterInnen (FACC Operations GmbH, Frequentis AG, AIT – Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, Fachhochschule Kärnten, TU Graz und die FH JOANNEUM) insgesamt 19 KonsortialpartnerInnen aus Wissenschaft, Industrie und BedarfsträgerInnen.