Did you mean:

Video surveil­lance

For the safety of the passengers of Graz Linien, there have been video cameras in buses and trams for several years.

Bus
© Holding Graz/Lupi Spuma

For the safety of our passengers: There is video surveillance …

  • in buses & trams
  • in the Castle Mountain lifts
  • on the Castle Mountain railway
  • in the local transport hub at the central station
  • in the Mobility and Sales Centre
  • at Puntigam local transport hub
  • in our sheds and at the bus garage

Cam­eras en­sure safe­ty

With the Variobahn, a total of eight cameras ensure safety; in the trams of the 600 series, there are seven cameras; in the three gas-powered buses five cameras keep an eye on the passengers; the articulated buses have eight cameras. The drivers do not see the images but can still see the rear entry doors via their control screens at the stops. At the other facilities, a sufficient number of cameras are installed and these are also used to monitor operations. The material recorded is saved for 72 hours (only for 120 hours at weekends for the trams and buses) and is then automatically deleted, unless it is needed to prosecute an offence.

FAQs

  • The measure serves to aid security and protect the property of our passengers. It makes a fundamental contribution to preventing criminal offences.

  • Only a selected group of persons together with an investigating police officer on behalf of the police. The data are encrypted, are saved on a data carrier in the vehicle on working days for 72 hours, and over the weekend for 120 hours, and then automatically deleted.The inspection of the data is done solely at the request of courts or security and police authorities, i.e. only if a complaint has been made to the police.

    Private individuals or passengers do not have any possibility of seeing these data!

  • Yes! Graz Linien have had the approval from the data privacy authority in Vienna for individual video systems since 30 April and 16 June 2013 respectively.

  • A complaint needs to be made to the next police station. The police will decide whether they wish to use the video recording to determine the facts of the case.

  • Yes, the video cameras are currently in use in 45 Variobahnen, 12 trams of the 600 series, 102 articulated buses and 62 rigid buses.

    (Status: November 2020)

  • The video data carriers are installed in a locked container in the individual vehicles. Unauthorised persons do not have access. If no complaint is made to the police, the data carrier will not be removed; the data will then be overwritten automatically. There is no central saving of the data!

  • A higher level of safety and crime prevention for the passengers and employees, as well as less damage and graffiti activities in the vehicles.

  • No, here it is about prevention and, in the case of a crime, about securing evidence. Video surveillance demonstrably prevents crimes and strengthens the feeling of security among passengers, in particular among elderly people. Video surveillance is successfully used by numerous public transport service providers nationally and internationally and positively commented upon by passengers. Due to the good experience with regard to prevention, the population is increasingly demanding a further expansion of video surveillance.

  • Please note down the day, time, line, direction and carriage number and provide these data to the police.

  • Unfortunately not, but the video recording is evidence for the police and the courts. For instance, a group of pickpockets operating internationally was caught because of video surveillance!

  • No, it is in every bank, in every jeweller’s shop and at most ATMs. Places with high volumes of traffic, motorways and numerous other locations are also subject to video surveillance.

  • On the vehicles with video surveillance there are round stickers on the outside with a pictogram of a video camera; in the interior there are stickers with a black video camera on a white background indicating video surveillance.

Skip to main content

Vi­deo­über­wa­chung

Zur Sicherheit der Fahrgäste der Graz Linien gibt es seit mehreren Jahren Videokameras in Bussen und Straßenbahnen.

Bus
© Holding Graz/Lupi Spuma

Zur Sicherheit unserer Fahrgäste: Videoüberwachung gibt es …

  • in Bus & Bim
  • in den Schloßbergliften
  • in der Schloßbergbahn
  • in der Nahverkehrsdrehscheibe Hauptbahnhof
  • im Mobilitäts- und Vertriebscenter
  • beim Nahverkehrsknoten Puntigam
  • in unseren Remisen und der Busgarage

Ka­me­ras sor­gen für die Si­cher­heit

Bei den Variobahnen sorgen insgesamt acht Kameras für die Sicherheit, bei den Straßenbahnen der Reihe 600 sieben Kameras, bei den drei Gasbussen halten fünf Kameras den Fahrgastraum im Auge, die Gelenkbusse verfügen über acht Kameras. Die Fahrer sehen die Bilder nicht, haben aber über ihre Kontrollmonitore bei den Haltestationen nach wie vor die hinteren Einstiegstüren im Auge. Bei den anderen Objekten sind Kameras in ausreichender Zahl montiert, die auch der Betriebsüberwachung dienen. Das aufgenommene Material wird 72 Stunden (nur bei den Straßenbahnen und Bussen an Wochenenden 120 Stunden) gespeichert und wird dann – falls es nicht wegen einer Straftat gebraucht wird – automatisch gelöscht.

FAQ

  • Die Maßnahme dient der Sicherheit und dem Schutz des Eigentums unserer Fahrgäste und MitarbeiterInnen und leistet einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Prävention vor Kriminaldelikten.

  • Nur ein ausgewählter Personenkreis gemeinsam mit einem ermittelnden Polizeibeamten im Auftrag der Polizei. Die Daten sind verschlüsselt, werden werktags 72 Stunden, über das Wochenende 120 Stunden auf einem Datenträger im Fahrzeug gespeichert und danach automatisch gelöscht. Die Einsicht der Daten erfolgt ausschließlich auf Anforderung von Gerichten oder Sicherheits- und Polizeibehörden, d.h., nur wenn eine polizeiliche Anzeige vorliegt.

    Privatpersonen oder Fahrgäste haben keine Möglichkeit zur Dateneinsicht!

  • Ja! Die Graz Linien haben seit 30. April bzw. 16. Juni 2013 die Genehmigung der Datenschutzbehörde in Wien für einzelne Videoanlagen.

  • Es ist eine Anzeige bei der nächsten Polizeidienststelle zu erstatten. Die Polizei entscheidet, ob sie für die Ermittlung des Sachverhalts die Videoaufzeichnung heranziehen will.

  • Ja, derzeit sind die Videokameras in 45 Variobahnen, 12 Straßenbahnen der Reihe 600, 102 Gelenkbussen und 62 Solobussen in Betrieb.

    (Stand: November 2020)

  • Die Videodatenträger sind in den einzelnen Fahrzeugen versperrt eingebaut. Unbefugte haben keinen Zugriff. Gibt es keinen polizeilichen Anlassfall, wird der Datenträger nicht ausgebaut, die Daten werden dann automatisch überschrieben. Es gibt keine zentrale Speicherung!

  • Mehr Sicherheit und Kriminalprävention für die Fahrgäste und MitarbeiterInnen, sowie weniger Beschädigungen und Graffiti-Aktivitäten in den Fahrzeugen.

  • Nein, hier geht es um Prävention und im Fall einer Straftat um Beweissicherung. Videoüberwachung verhindert nachweislich Straftaten und verstärkt das Sicherheitsgefühl von Fahrgästen, insbesondere bei älteren Menschen. Die Videoüberwachung wird von zahlreichen öffentlichen Verkehrsdienstleistern national und international erfolgreich eingesetzt und von den Fahrgästen positiv kommentiert. Aufgrund der guten Erfahrungen hinsichtlich Prävention wird seitens der Bevölkerung die Forderung nach einem weiteren Ausbau der Videoüberwachung immer lauter.

  • Wir ersuchen Sie, sich den Tag, die Uhrzeit, Linie, Richtung und Wagennummer zu notieren und diese Daten bei der polizeilichen Aufnahme anzugeben.

  • Leider nein, aber die Videoaufzeichnung ist ein Beweismittel für die Polizei und die Gerichte. So konnte schon eine international tätige Taschendiebbande aufgrund der Videoüberwachung überführt werden!

  • Nein, sondern auch in jeder Bank, bei jedem Juwelier oder an den meisten Bankomaten. Auch verkehrsreiche Plätze, Autobahnen und zahlreiche andere Örtlichkeiten werden videoüberwacht.

  • An den Fahrzeugen mit Videoüberwachung befinden sich außen runde Aufkleber mit dem Piktogramm einer Videokamera, im Inneren weisen Aufkleber mit einer schwarzen Videokamera auf weißem Grund auf die elektronische Überwachung hin.