Did you mean:

move2ze­ro

In the “move2zero” project, an integrated concept for the complete decarbonisation of the municipal bus transport system in Graz is being developed.

The goal is an emission-free operation, from the provision of energy and the infrastructure to the vehicles. Attention is paid to low emission factors and high re-use and recyclability of all components.

© Holding Graz/Emanuel Droneberger

“move2zero”: Innovative funding project for the decarbonisation of the Graz buses

 

As a lead project, move2zero develops a comprehensive execution and implementation project for the full decarbonisation of a municipal bus system which in future can be transferred to many other municipal transport systems. Based on multi-disciplinary research (which also includes industrial research) and a comprehensive demonstration phase, move2zero will pave the way towards an efficient and effective changeover of municipal public transport systems in the direction of an emission-free future!

To reduce the overall environmental impact, attention is paid in move2zero to the use of components with very low environmental effects and the entire life cycle of vehicles and infrastructure is analysed. For that, as an accompaniment to all research and demonstration initiatives in the project, a comprehensive eco design and life cycle assessment will be carried out.

Demonstration operations:

In a first demonstration operation, 7 battery-driven buses on Line 40 and 7 fuel cell buses on Line 66 will be used in order to collect experiences with different technologies in real-time operation.

In the demonstration operation, the required charging infrastructure to provide energy for the battery-powered buses will be set up and operated depending on the choice of technology along the bus line and/or in the bus centre in Kärtnerstraße. The setting up of a fuelling station in the bus centre is planned for the fuelling of the fuel cell buses. In a first step, the “green” hydrogen will come from an electrolysis plant in Gabersdorf, where hydrogen is produced from renewable energies.

For the selection of an optimum technology mix for the full decarbonisation of the bus fleet, the demonstration operation will be accompanied by research papers from several scientific partners. There will be a targeted monitoring, data analysis and mathematical modelling. Depending on the technology decision for the entire fleet, recharging infrastructure suitable in the long term or a correspondingly higher H2 fuel station plus electrolysis will be constructed and operated to produce the hydrogen in Graz. In the course of the entire project and also in the future, an electricity and hydrogen supply from 100% renewable sources of energy is to be ensured.

In order to achieve a production of hydrogen that is as efficient as possible, i.e. to avoid the loss of efficiency with conventional mechanical compression, there will be research on electrochemical compression technologies in the course of the project. Electrochemical compression has substantial benefits with regard to efficiency, hydrogen quality and the cleaning of hydrogen.

Innovative on-demand services: Shuttle system at Graz airport

In addition to the conversion of drive technologies, the aim is to drive forward innovations in the area of demand orientation in the public transport system so as to make public transport systems more attractive in the future. In addition to the existing public transport system, innovative on-demand services are thus being developed and tested in move2zero with the involvement of users. The test operation of a battery-driven, demand-dependent shuttle system between Graz airport, suburban railway station and regional bus stop as an attractive and convenient link to the public transport network is being carried out. E-vehicles which are charged with an innovative, automated charging system via charging plates integrated in the roadway (matrix charging) are used. An innovative booking system has been developed and integrated into existing platforms for the booking of the shuttle.

To determine requirements and develop the optimum operator concept of the on-demand system, anonymised mobile communications data are analysed and assessed. Another research focus in the project is a concept for a possible autonomous operation of this on-demand service in the future.

The project goals:

  • Zero-emission technologies for the provision of energy
  • Zero-emission technologies for the operation of the vehicles and infrastructure
  • Use of components with low emission factors and higher quota for re-use and recycling
  • Optimum adjustment to the demand and requirements of public transport users by developing & operating on-demand services
  • Comprehensive involvement of the citizens in the development and demonstration of innovative systems
  • Integrated concept for the decarbonisation of the bus transport system and transferability to other cities
© Holding Graz

Project management:

Holding Graz – Kommunale Dienstleistungen GmbH

www.holding-graz.at

 

Project coordination:

Grazer Energieagentur

https://www.grazer-ea.at

 

Project partners:

HyCentA Research GmbH

http://www.hycenta.at/

 

Energie Steiermark

https://www.e-steiermark.com/privat/

 

Energie Graz

https://www.energie-graz.at/

 

Graz University of Technology

https://www.tugraz.at/institute/isv/forschung/laufende-projekte/move2zero/

 

Planungsgruppe Gestering | Knipping

https://www.planungsgruppe.com/

 

Upstream – next level mobility GmbH

https://www.upstream-mobility.at/

 

Environment Agency Austria

https://www.umweltbundesamt.at/

 

Invenium Data Insights GmbH

https://www.invenium.io/

 

TECHNOMA Technology Consulting und Marketing GmbH

https://www.technoma.at/de/de-home/

 

University of Graz

https://statistik-operations-research.uni-graz.at/de/

 

ARTI – Autonomous Robot Technology GmbH

https://arti-robots.com/

 

HOERBIGER Holding AG

https://www.hoerbiger.com/

 

Project funding:

This project is being financed with funds from the climate and energy fund within the framework of the “zero emission mobility” programme.

Climate and energy fund:

https://www.klimafonds.gv.at/

Nomination for the 2019 State Prize for Mobility

 

“move2zero” was one of 3 projects nominated for the State Prize for Mobility. Here is a video of it!

New emission-free shuttle system at Graz airport

In the public transport system, the aim is to drive forward innovations in the area of demand orientation so as to make public transport systems more attractive in the future. In addition to the existing public transport system, innovative on-demand services are thus being developed and tested in move2zero with the involvement of users.

The test operation of a battery-powered, requirements-based shuttle system between Graz airport, suburban railway and regional bus stop is being carried out as an attractive and convenient link to the public local transport system. E-vehicles (Mercedes eVito) which are charged with an innovative, automated charging system via the charging plates (matrix charging) integrated in the road are used. For the booking of the shuttle, an innovative booking platform has been developed and integrated into existing platforms. To determine requirements and develop the optimum operator concept of the on-demand system, anonymised mobile communications data will be analysed and assessed.

Another research focus in the project is a concept for possible autonomous operation of this on-demand service in the future.

Project info:

  • Test operation6 months (anticipated to be 2021)
  • Route: Graz airport – suburban railway station – Abtissendorf Flughafenstraße
  • Vehicles: 2 Mercedes e-Vito (battery-powered shuttle; 9-seaters)
  • Ticket: free-of-charge service
  • Booking: call system (on-demand service) via www.grz-shuttle.at.
  • Charging system: conductive, automated charging system via matrix charging plates installed in the floor (system from the company Easelink). First test operation of this charging system in the public sector and in public passenger transport.

 

This project is financed with funds from the climate and energy fund within the “zero emission mobility” programme. The airport shuttle is also supported in the Styrian central region with regional funds pursuant to the 2018 Styrian Provincial and Regional Development Act.

Flughafen Graz
© Flughafen Graz/Hummer

Batterieelektrische Busse und Ladeinfrastruktur

 

Im Demonstrationsbetrieb werden 7 Busse auf der Linie 40 batterieelektrisch betrieben. Somit wird die Linie 40 in Zukunft vollständig emissionsfrei fahren.

 

Projektinfos:

  • Demonstrationsbetrieb: voraussichtlich ab Anfang 2023
  • Route: Linie 40
  • Fahrzeuge: 18-Meter batterieelektrische Busse (Modelle in Ausschreibung)
  • Ladeinfrastruktur: ONC (overnight charging) im Buscenter mit Nachladung an strategisch optimalen Haltepunkten.
© Holding Graz/Lupi Spuma

Fuel cell buses and fuelling infrastructure

 

In the demonstration operation, 7 buses will be converted to fuel cell buses and used on Line 66. In order to ensure a production of hydrogen that is as efficient as possible, i.e. to avoid the loss of efficiency with conventional mechanical compression, there will be research on electrochemical compression technologies in the course of the project. Electrochemical compression has fundamental benefits with regard to efficiency, hydrogen quality and the cleaning of hydrogen.

Project info:

  • Demonstration operation: anticipated to be from the beginning of 2023
  • Route: Line 66
  • Vehicles: 18-metre fuel cell buses (models in request for propoosals)
  • Fuelling infrastructure: In a first step, there will be the delivery of hydrogen from an electrolysis plant in Gabersdorf. A H2 fuelling station will be set up to fuel the buses.
© Holding Graz

COVID-19-Prävention
Alle Infos zu den Maßnahmen der Holding Graz!
Meintest du:

mo­ve2­ze­ro

Im Projekt „move2zero“ wird ein ganzheitliches Konzept für die vollständige Dekarbonisierung des städtischen Bustransportsystems in Graz erarbeitet.

Ziel ist ein emissionsfreier Betrieb, von der Energieaufbringung über die Infrastruktur bis zu den Fahrzeugen. Auf geringe Emissionsfaktoren und hohe Reuse- und Recyclingfähigkeit aller Komponenten wird geachtet.

E-Busse Graz Linien
© Holding Graz/Emanuel Droneberger

„move2zero“: Innovatives Förderprojekt zur Dekarbonisierung der Grazer Busse

 

Als Leitprojekt entwickelt move2zero ein umfassendes Umsetzungs- und Implementierungskonzept für die vollständige Dekarbonisierung eines städtischen Bussystems, das zukünftig auf viele weitere städtische Verkehrssysteme übertragen werden kann. Basierend auf einer multi-disziplinären Forschung (die auch industrielle Forschung umfasst) und einer umfassenden Demonstrationsphase wird move2zero den Weg zu einer schrittweisen effizienten und effektiven Umstellung städtischer ÖV-Systeme in Richtung emissionsfreier Zukunft ebnen!

Zur Reduktion der Gesamtumweltauswirkungen wird in move2zero auf die Verwendung von Komponenten mit sehr geringen Umweltauswirkungen geachtet und der gesamte Lebenszyklus von Fahrzeugen und Infrastruktur analysiert. Dafür wird begleitend zu allen Forschungs- und Demonstrationsvorhaben im Projekt ein umfassendes Eco-Design und Life Cycle Assessment durchgeführt.

Demonstrationsbetrieb:

In einem ersten Demonstrationsbetrieb werden 7 Batteriebusse auf der Linie 40 und 7 Brennstoffzellenbusse auf der Linie 66 zum Einsatz kommen, um Erfahrungen mit unterschiedlichen Technologien im Realbetrieb zu sammeln.

Im Demonstrationsbetrieb wird die erforderliche Ladeinfrastruktur zur Energiebereitstellung für die batterieelektrischen Busse je nach Technologieauswahl entlang der Buslinie und/oder im Buscenter in der Kärntnerstraße errichtet und betrieben. Für die Betankung der Brennstoffzellenbusse ist die Errichtung einer Tankanlage im Buscenter geplant. Im ersten Schritt kommt der „grüne“ Wasserstoff aus einer Elektrolyse-Anlage in Gabersdorf, wo Wasserstoff aus erneuerbaren Energien gewonnen wird.

Für die Auswahl eines optimalen Technologiemixes zur vollständigen Dekarbonisierung der Busflotte wird der Demonstrationsbetrieb mit Forschungsarbeiten mehrerer wissenschaftlicher Partner begleitet. Es erfolgt gezieltes Monitoring, Datenauswertung und mathematische Modellierung. Abhängig von der Technologieentscheidung für die Gesamtflotte, wird langfristig geeignete Ladeinfrastruktur oder eine entsprechend größere H2-Tankstelle samt Elektrolyse zur Gewinnung des Wasserstoffs in Graz errichtet und betrieben. Im Zuge des gesamten Projektes und auch in Zukunft soll eine Strom- und Wasserstoffversorgung aus 100 % erneuerbaren Energiequellen sichergestellt sein.

Um eine möglichst effiziente Wasserstofferzeugung zu erreichen, d.h. den Effizienzverlust bei herkömmlicher mechanischer Kompression zu vermeiden, wird im Zuge des Projektes an elektrochemischen Kompressionstechnologien geforscht. Elektrochemische Kompression weist wesentliche Vorteile hinsichtlich Effizienz, Wasserstoffqualität und der Reinigung von Wasserstoff auf.

Innovative On-Demand-Services: Shuttle-System am Flughafen Graz:

Neben der Umstellung von Antriebstechnologien gilt es im öffentlichen Verkehrssystem Innovationen im Bereich der Nachfrageorientierung voranzubringen, um so ÖV-Systeme der Zukunft attraktiver zu gestalten. In move2zero werden daher ergänzend zum bestehenden ÖV-System innovative On-Demand-Services unter Einbindung von NutzerInnen entwickelt und getestet. Durchgeführt wird der Testbetrieb eines batterieelektrischen, bedarfsabhängigen Shuttle-Systems zwischen Flughafen Graz, S-Bahn-Station und Regionalbushaltestelle als attraktive und bequeme Anbindung an den ÖPNV. Zum Einsatz kommen E-Fahrzeuge, die mit einem innovativen, automatisierten Ladesystem über in der Fahrbahn integrierte Ladeplatten (Matrix Charging) geladen werden. Für die Buchung des Shuttles wird eine innovative Buchungsplattform entwickelt und in bestehende Plattformen integriert.

Zur Bedarfsermittlung und Entwicklung des optimalen Betreiberkonzeptes des On-Demand Systems werden anonymisierte Mobilfunkdaten analysiert und ausgewertet. Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt im Projekt widmet sich einem Konzept für einen möglichen autonomen Betrieb dieses On-Demand-Services in der Zukunft.

Die Projektziele:

  • Zero-Emission Technologien für die Energiebereitstellung
  • Zero-Emission Technologien für den Betrieb der Fahrzeuge und der Infrastruktur
  • Verwendung von Komponenten mit geringen Emissionsfaktoren und hoher Quote für Reuse und Recycling
  • Optimale Anpassung an die Nachfrage und Bedürfnisse von ÖV-NutzerInnen durch Entwicklung & Betrieb von On-Demand Services
  • Umfassende Einbindung der Bürgerinnen und Bürger in der Entwicklung und Demonstration innovativer Systeme
  • Gesamtheitliches Konzept zur Dekarbonisierung des Bustransportsystems und Übertragbarkeit auf andere Städte
Grafik move2zero
© Holding Graz

Nominierung zum Staatspreis Mobilität 2019

 

Als eines von drei Projekten wurde „move2zero“ für den Staatspreis Mobilität 2019 nominiert. Hier gibt es ein Video dazu!

Neues emissionsfreies Shuttle-System am Flughafen Graz

Im öffentlichen Verkehrssystem gilt es, Innovationen im Bereich der Nachfrageorientierung voranzubringen, um so ÖV-Systeme der Zukunft attraktiver zu gestalten. In move2zero werden daher ergänzend zum bestehenden ÖV-System innovative On-Demand Services unter Einbindung von NutzerInnen entwickelt und getestet.

Durchgeführt wird der Testbetrieb eines batterieelektrischen, bedarfsabhängigen Shuttle-Systems zwischen Flughafen Graz, S-Bahn-Station und Regionalbushaltestelle als attraktive und bequeme Anbindung an den ÖPNV. Zum Einsatz kommen E-Fahrzeuge (Mercedes e-Vito), die mit einem innovativen, automatisierten Ladesystem über in der Fahrbahn integrierte Ladeplatten (Matrix Charging) geladen werden. Für die Buchung des Shuttles wird eine innovative Buchungsplattform entwickelt und in bestehende Plattformen integriert. Zur Bedarfsermittlung und Entwicklung des optimalen Betreiberkonzeptes des On-Demand Systems werden anonymisierte Mobilfunkdaten analysiert und ausgewertet.

Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt im Projekt widmet sich einem Konzept für einen möglichen autonomen Betrieb dieses On-Demand-Services in der Zukunft.

Projektinfos:

  • Testbetrieb6 Monate (voraussichtlich 2021)
  • Route: Flughafen Graz – S-Bahn-Station – Abtissendorf Flughafenstraße
  • Fahrzeuge: 2 Mercedes e-Vito (batterieelektrisches Shuttle; 9-Sitzer)
  • Ticket: kostenloses Service
  • Buchung: Rufsystem (on-demand-Service) über www.grz-shuttle.at.
  • Ladesystem: Konduktives, automatisiertes Ladesystem über im Boden verbaute Matrix Charging Ladeplatten (System der Firma Easelink). Erster Testbetrieb dieses Ladesystems im öffentlichen Raum und im öffentlichen Personenverkehr.

 

Dieses Projekt wird aus Mitteln des Klima- und Energiefonds im Rahmen des Programms „zero emission mobility“ gefördert. Das Flughafen-Shuttle wird zudem im Steirischen Zentralraum durch Regionsmittel – Steiermärkisches Landes- und Regionalentwicklungsgesetz 2018 – unterstützt.

Flughafen Graz
© Flughafen Graz/Hummer

Batterieelektrische Busse und Ladeinfrastruktur

 

Im Demonstrationsbetrieb werden 7 Busse auf der Linie 40 batterieelektrisch betrieben. Somit wird die Linie 40 in Zukunft vollständig emissionsfrei fahren.

 

Projektinfos:

  • Demonstrationsbetrieb: voraussichtlich ab Anfang 2023
  • Route: Linie 40
  • Fahrzeuge: 18-Meter batterieelektrische Busse (Modelle in Ausschreibung)
  • Ladeinfrastruktur: ONC (overnight charging) im Buscenter mit Nachladung an strategisch optimalen Haltepunkten.
E-Bus Graz Linien
© Holding Graz/Lupi Spuma

Brennstoffzellenbusse und Tankinfrastruktur

 

Im Demonstrationsbetrieb werden 7 Busse auf Brennstoffzellenbusse umgestellt und auf der Linie 66 eingesetzt. Um eine möglichst effiziente Wasserstofferzeugung zu erreichen, d.h. den Effizienzverlust bei herkömmlicher mechanischer Kompression zu vermeiden, wird im Zuge des Projektes an elektrochemischen Kompressionstechnologien geforscht. Elektrochemische Kompression weist wesentliche Vorteile hinsichtlich Effizienz, Wasserstoffqualität und der Reinigung von Wasserstoff auf.

Projektinfos:

  • Demonstrationsbetrieb: voraussichtlich ab Anfang 2023
  • Route: Linie 66
  • Fahrzeuge: 18-Meter Brennstoffzellenbusse (Modelle in Ausschreibung)
  • Tankinfrastruktur: Im ersten Schritt erfolgt die Anlieferung von Wasserstoff aus einer Elektrolyse-Anlage in Gabersdorf. Zur Betankung der Busse wird eine H2-Tankstelle errichtet.
H2-Bus Tankstelle
© Holding Graz

Projektleitung:

Holding Graz – Kommunale Dienstleistungen GmbH

www.holding-graz.at

 

Projektkoordination:

Grazer Energieagentur

https://www.grazer-ea.at

 

ProjektpartnerInnen:

HyCentA Research GmbH

http://www.hycenta.at/

 

Energie Steiermark

https://www.e-steiermark.com/privat/

 

Energie Graz

https://www.energie-graz.at/

 

TU Graz

https://www.tugraz.at/institute/isv/forschung/laufende-projekte/move2zero/

 

Planungsgruppe Gestering | Knipping

https://www.planungsgruppe.com/

 

Upstream – next level mobility GmbH

https://www.upstream-mobility.at/

 

Umweltbundesamt

https://www.umweltbundesamt.at/

 

Invenium Data Insights GmbH

https://www.invenium.io/

 

TECHNOMA Technology Consulting und Marketing GmbH

https://www.technoma.at/de/de-home/

 

Universität Graz

https://statistik-operations-research.uni-graz.at/de/

 

ARTI – Autonomous Robot Technology GmbH

https://arti-robots.com/

 

HOERBIGER Holding AG

https://www.hoerbiger.com/

 

Projektförderung:

Dieses Projekt wird aus Mitteln des Klima- und Energiefonds im Rahmen des Programms „zero emission mobility“ gefördert. 

Klima- und Energiefonds:

https://www.klimafonds.gv.at/