Skip to main content

Music as­so­ci­a­tion of Graz Lin­ien

Our employees are also out and about from a musical perspective – in the music association of Graz Linien and the company’s own big band.

Musikverein Graz Linien
© Andreas Müller

Graz Linien music association

In 1921, the assistant ticket collector Adolf Sperling founded the music association for the employees of the “Grazer Tramway Gesellschaft” as the company was known at the time. During the war, the activities of the musicians were heavily restricted; between the spring of 1944 and the summer of 1945 they were suspended entirely.

On 16 July 1945, rehearsals resumed with 13 musicians; the first post-war concert took place in the autumn of 1945. Gradually the fine reputation of our orchestra grew and thus there were regular radio recordings from as early as 1947. The general social development meant that in 1977 the band only comprised 13 musicians – the same number as when it was founded. Thanks to the support and the understanding of the Executive Board of Holding Graz (formerly Grazer Stadtwerke AG) and the management of Graz Linien (formerly Grazer Verkehrsbetriebe), there was a gratifying growth in interest and thus a continuous increase in the number of active musicians.

1982, with one year delay, saw the 60-year anniversary of the music association’s existence marked with a special celebration. In 1996, the music association celebrated its 75-year anniversary. The presentation of the “Robert Stolz Medal” and of the “Styrian Panther” took place in the aula of the Old University in May 2009.

In 2011, the Graz Linien music association celebrated its 90-year anniversary and can look back with pride at many appearances at concerts and events as well as some CD productions of its own and prizes that it was awarded at reviews.

Chairman of the Graz Linien music association:

Dipl. Ing. Andreas Solymos

Conductor:
Werner Gollenz (since 2020)

Facebook page of the music association Arrow
Musikverein Graz Linien
© Andreas Müller
Andreas Solymos
Portrait von Mobility Lab Projektleiter Andreas Solymos.

Dipl. Ing. Andreas Solymos

Chairman of Music Association at Graz Linien

It is planned to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Graz Linien Music Association on 11 September 2021 at the Schloßberg in Graz, if the COVID 19 situation permits. At this festival, which will take place in the casemates, we would like to make the Schloßberg resound. Guest bands from Styria will support us.

At the moment we cannot give any details about the festival programme. It is also not yet certain whether the festival can take place at all. The members and friends of the Musikverein der Graz Linien will be informed via the media.

 

Contact & Bookings:

Erwin Reichert

Phone: +43 316 887-4246

Mobile: +43 664 83 45 251

Mail: [email protected]

As the musical ambassador of the Holding Graz Group, we have been an integral part of the Styrian music scene since 1996. The orchestra consists mainly of Graz Linien employees, but some guests also support our big band.

Motto of our Big Band: “We make every performance an unforgettable experience, be it a ball, concert, wedding or company event. Our big band makes every audience swing!”

Skip to main content

Mu­sik­ver­ein der Graz Li­ni­en

Unsere MitarbeiterInnen geben auch musikalisch Vollgas – beim Musikverein der Graz Linien und bei der hauseigenen Big Band.

Musikverein Graz Linien
© Andreas Müller

Der Musikverein der Graz Linien

Im Jahr 1921 gründete der Hilfsschaffner Adolf Sperling für die Bediensteten der damaligen Grazer Tramway Gesellschaft den Musikverein. Während des Krieges wurde die Musiktätigkeit stark eingeschränkt, von Frühjahr 1944 bis Sommer 1945 sogar gänzlich eingestellt.

Am 16. Juli 1945 wurden mit 13 Musikern die Proben wieder aufgenommen, das erste Nachkriegskonzert fand im Herbst 1945 statt. Allmählich wuchs der gute Ruf unseres Orchesters und so wurden schon ab 1947 regelmäßig Rundfunkaufnahmen aufgenommen. Aufgrund der allgemeinen gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung bestand 1977 die Kapelle nur mehr aus 13 MusikerInnen – die gleiche Anzahl wie zur Gründungszeit. Dank der Unterstützung und des Verständnisses des Vorstands der Holding Graz sowie der Leitung der Graz Linien konnte erfreulicherweise ein wachsendes Interesse und damit eine kontinuierliche Steigerung der Zahl von aktiven MusikerInnen verzeichnet werden.

1982, mit einem Jahr Verspätung, wurde das 60-jährige Bestandsjubiläum des Musikvereines feierlich begangen. 1996 feierte der Musikverein sein 75-Jahr-Jubiläum. Die Verleihung der „Robert-Stolz-Medaille“ sowie des „Steirischen Panthers“ fanden im Mai 2009 in der Aula der Alten Universität statt.

Im Jahr 2011 feierte der Musikverein der Graz Linien sein 90-Jahr-Jubiläum und kann stolz auf erfolgreiche Jahre mit vielen Auftritten bei Konzerten und Veranstaltungen, sowie auf einige CD-Produktionen und erlangte Preise bei Konzertwertungen zurückblicken.

Obmann des Musikvereines der Graz Linien:

Dipl. Ing. Andreas Solymos

Kapellmeister:
Werner Gollenz (seit 2020)

Facebookseite des Musikvereines Arrow
Musikverein Graz Linien
© Andreas Müller
Andreas Solymos
© Holding Graz/Beatrice Hart

Dipl. Ing. Andreas Solymos

Obmann Musikverein Graz Linien

Geplantes Konzert zum 100er:

Es ist geplant, am 11.09.2021 am Grazer Schloßberg das 100 Jahr-Jubiläum des Musikvereines der Graz Linien zu feiern, wenn es die COVID-19-Si­tu­a­ti­on zulässt. Bei diesem Fest, das in den Kasematten stattfinden soll, möchten wir den Schloßberg zum Klingen zu bringen. Gastkapellen aus der Steiermark werden uns dabei unterstützen.

Derzeit können wir zum das Festprogramm noch keine Details bekanntgeben. Auch ob das Fest überhaupt stattfinden kann, ist noch nicht fix. Die Mitglieder und Freunde des Musikvereins der Graz Linien werden über die Medien informiert.

Musikverein Graz Linien
© Andreas Müller

Kontakt & Buchungen:

Erwin Reichert

Tel.: +43 316 887-4246

Mobil: +43 664 83 45 251

Mail: [email protected]

Musikverein Graz Linien
© Foto Ullrich
Musikverein Graz Linien
© Andreas Müller
Musikverein Graz Linien
© Andreas Müller
Musikverein Graz Linien
© Andreas Müller
Musikverein Graz Linien
© Musikverein Graz Linien

Die Big Band der Graz Li­ni­en:

Als musikalischer Botschafter des Holding Graz Konzerns sind wir seit 1996 fixer Bestandteil der steirischen Musikszene. Das Orchester besteht überwiegend aus DienstnehmerInnen der Graz Linien, aber auch einige Gäste unterstützen unsere Big Band.

Motto unserer Big Band: „Wir machen jeden Auftritt zu einem unvergesslichen Erlebnis, sei es Ball, Konzert, Hochzeit oder Firmenveranstaltung. Unsere Big Band bringt jedes Publikum zum Swingen!“