Skip to main content

Our city cen­ter on the up­swing

Citymanagement
© Holding Graz

For one year now, Graz City Management has been centrally controlled by Holding Graz. After the official relaunch twelve months ago, Mayor Siegfried Nagl and the City Management are now taking stock.

Free shopping trips on Saturdays, video productions, Graz voucher sales records, loyalty campaigns and much more: the list of projects implemented last year for inner-city businesses is long.

Free shopping on Saturdays

Last year (mid-September to mid-December) and this summer, the public transportation system offered free shopping in downtown Graz every Saturday. Thousands took advantage of the free service on Saturdays to get to the city center for a stroll.

Summer in the City

Additional promotions as part of “Summer in the City” provided an impetus for retail and gastronomy in the center of Graz: In addition to the Saturday free ride, these included above all the park action, children’s play streets with live music and the popular sand sculptures. The offers attracted numerous people to the city center, as the figures show: in July and August, for example, around 850,000 people bustled about in the center of Graz, and on peak days in August, an average of 30,000 people were out and about – a similarly high frequency value as before Corona 2019.

GrazGutschein loyalty campaign

In order to sustainably strengthen the businesses after the Corona lockdowns, the city and Holding, together with Citymanagement, launched the loyalty campaign in December 2020. As a thank you for a purchase at GrazGutschein partner businesses, GrazGutscheine were returned – depending on the purchase value. A total of around 13,000 invoices were received, more than 8,000 Graz residents benefited from the campaign and received vouchers worth a total of 150,000 euros back.

Sales record

The “Graz as a Gift” campaign implemented by the City Management also gave a big boost to the sale of GrazGutscheine 2020: in the previous year, more than eight million euros in sales were generated with GrazGutscheine.

Redemption record in 2021

The more than 700 GrazGutschein partners were joined by over 50 new businesses in the first half of 2021. The current figures show that the GrazGutschein is well received by local partners: By the end of August, the GrazGutschein partners booked 5.7 million euros in redemptions – which is already one million euros higher than in the entire year 2020 (4.7 million euros).

Free video productions

To make its own business known to a wide audience, Citymanagement offers downtown businesses the opportunity to present their company in free short videos. More than 50 videos about businesses from a wide range of industries – including pharmacies, hotels, boutiques, dance schools, jewelers or bakeries – have already been published.

Mayor and economics adviser Siegfried Nagl gave a year ago the new direction and shows up contently with the first balance: “The initial situation before approximately one year was certainly not the easiest, were nevertheless the trade, the catering trade as well as the hotel trade by the Covid restrictions partly massively limited. However, through joint actions and measures, many positive things have been achieved for the city center economy, including two records: more than eight million euros in sales of Graz vouchers in the previous year and a redemption record of 5.7 million euros this summer.”

Skip to main content

Un­se­re In­nen­stadt im Auf­wind

Shoppen in Graz
© Holding Graz/Die Abbilderei

Seit einem Jahr wird das Grazer Citymanagement seitens Holding Graz zentral gesteuert. Nach dem offiziellen Neustart vor zwölf Monaten ziehen Bürgermeister Siegfried Nagl und das Citymanagement nun Bilanz.

Samstags-Freifahrten, Videoproduktionen, GrazGutschein-Umsatzrekorde, Treueaktion u.v.m.: Die Liste der im vergangenen Jahr umgesetzten Projekte für die innerstädtischen Unternehmen ist lang.

Shopping-Freifahrt an Samstagen

Im Vorjahr (Mitte September bis Mitte Dezember) und im heurigen Sommer ging es jeden Samstag gratis mit den Öffis zum Shoppen in die Grazer Innenstadt. Tausende nutzten samstags den kostenlosen Service, um zum Bummeln in die City zu gelangen.

Summer in the City

Mit zusätzlichen Aktionen im Rahmen von „Summer in the City“ wurden Impulse für Handel und Gastronomie im Grazer Zentrum gesetzt: Neben der Samstags-Freifahrt zählen dazu vor allem die Parkaktion, Kinderspielstraßen mit Livemusik und die beliebten Sandskulpturen. Die Angebote lockten zahlreiche Menschen in die Innenstadt, wie die Zahlen zeigen: So tummelten sich im Juli und August jeweils rund 850.000 Menschen in der Grazer Innenstadt, an Spitzen-Tagen im August waren durchschnittlich 30.000 Personen unterwegs – ein ähnlich hoher Frequenzwert wie vor Corona 2019.

GrazGutschein-Treueaktion

Um die Betriebe nach den Corona-Lockdowns nachhaltig zu stärken, riefen Stadt und Holding mit dem Citymanagement im Dezember 2020 die Treueaktion ins Leben. Als Dankeschön für einen Einkauf bei GrazGutschein-Partnerbetrieben gab es – je nach Einkaufswert – GrazGutscheine retour. Insgesamt gingen rund 13.000 Rechnungen ein, mehr als 8.000 Grazer profitierten von der Aktion und bekamen Gutscheine im Gesamtwert von 150.000 Euro zurück.

Umsatzrekord

Die vom Citymanagement umgesetzte Kampagne „Graz als Geschenk“ hat den Verkauf von GrazGutscheinen 2020 zusätzlich ordentlich angekurbelt: Im Vorjahr wurden mehr als acht Millionen Euro Umsatz mit den GrazGutscheinen erwirtschaftet.

Rücklöse-Rekord 2021

Die mehr als 700 GrazGutschein-Partner bekamen im ersten Halbjahr 2021 mit über 50 Betrieben Zuwachs. Dass der GrazGutschein bei den lokalen Partnern ankommt, zeigen die aktuellen Zahlen: Bis Ende August verbuchten die GrazGutschein-Partner 5,7 Millionen Euro an Rücklösungen – damit liegt man bereits jetzt um eine Million Euro höher als im Gesamtjahr 2020 (4,7 Millionen Euro).

Kostenlose Videoproduktionen

Um den eigenen Betrieb einem breiten Publikum bekannt zu machen, bietet das Citymanagement Innenstadtbetrieben die Möglichkeit, ihr Unternehmen in kostenlosen Kurzvideos zu präsentieren. Mehr als 50 Videos über Betriebe aus den unterschiedlichsten Branchen – darunter Apotheken, Hotels, Boutiquen, Tanzschulen, Juweliere oder Bäckereien – wurden bereits veröffentlicht.

Bürgermeister und Wirtschaftsreferent Siegfried Nagl gab vor einem Jahr die neue Richtung vor und zeigt sich zufrieden mit der ersten Bilanz: „Die Ausgangslage vor rund einem Jahr war sicherlich nicht die leichteste, waren doch der Handel, die Gastronomie sowie die Hotellerie durch die Covid-Restriktionen teilweise massiv eingeschränkt. Durch gemeinsam gesetzte Aktionen und Maßnahmen ist aber viel Positives für die Innenstadtwirtschaft gelungen, mitunter sogar zwei Rekorde: Mehr als acht Millionen Euro Umsatz beim GrazGutschein-Verkauf im Vorjahr und im heurigen Sommer bereits ein Rücklöse-Rekord von 5,7 Millionen Euro.“