Skip to main content

Her­ren­gasse: New Christ­mas light­ing

Weihnachtsbeleuchtung
© Stadt Graz

It is one of the major highlights in the local calendar of events: the “Advent in Graz”, which – outside of pandemic times – attracts tens of thousands of national and international guests to the city of Graz every year. In addition to the popular Christmas markets, the traditional Christmas tree on the main square, the ice crib and the Christmas lights are fixed starters every year. This year, a special “sight” awaits the people of Graz as well as guests of the city during Advent: Herrengasse will shine with a completely new Christmas illumination from November 19.

Mayor Siegfried Nagl: “In recent years, there have been repeated considerations to renew the Christmas lighting in Herrengasse, as the central element, and to bring it up to the state of the art. In consultation with representatives of the city center business community, it has now been possible to create a unique Christmas lighting system that meets the demands of an innovative and creative city and, above all, further enhances the attractiveness of the main shopping street during the winter season. But no one has to do without the “Falling Christmas Trees” either: They will be on display in Schmiedgasse this year.”

Christmas lighting is an essential cornerstone of “Advent in Graz”, organized by Holding Graz Citymanagement, especially in the city center of Graz. True to the motto “Advent of short distances – a different atmosphere in every square”, the Christmas lighting also presents itself in a variety of ways every year. Herrengasse is the central element – and yet has been home to the same basic lighting with the characteristic “The falling christmas trees” since 2004.

The details:

The renewal will bring the Christmas lighting up to the latest state of the art. All connections, power supplies and static devices have already been coordinated with the responsible authorities. The people of Graz and visitors can expect different animations as well as color and light plays with the new “sight” along Herrengasse: In addition to trickling snow, spray candles and shooting stars, the Christmas message “Merry Christmas” and the skyline will also be visible. As part of the innovation, two photo points equipped with dual light chains (in clock tower design and as Graz lettering) will also be set up in the city center.

The Facts:

  • Different animations, color as well as light shows will be on display in Herrengasse: shooting stars, spray candles, Merry Christmas, trickling snow and skyline.
  • There are a total of 38,400 RGB light points, all of which can be individually controlled.
  • In total there are 13 light sails above Herrengasse, 8 of them with RGB light points (RGB Light Carpets), 6 of them are dual-color light sails
  • The two photo points (clock tower and Graz lettering) are also equipped with dual light chains and can be controlled in 2 colors
  • The technical implementation (installation of the Christmas lighting, etc.) is again carried out by Energie Graz, the new Christmas lighting is supervised by the company MK Solutions after an extensive tendering procedure.
  • Advent in Graz” starts this year on November 19

Composition of the jury for the selection of the new Christmas lighting:

  • Richard Peer (Head of Marketing Holding Graz)
  • Heimo Maieritsch (Citymanager Holding Graz)
  • Wolfgang Konrad (Energy Graz)
  • Judith Schwarz (Echt Graz)
  • Diana Materi (Head of Economy, International Relations, Tourism in the BGM Office)
  • Wolfgang Skerget (Head of City of Design)
  • Andrea Keimel (Head of Department A15)
  • Dieter Hardt-Stremayr (Managing Director Graz Tourism)

Skip to main content

Her­ren­gas­se: Neue Weih­nachts­be­leuch­tung

Weihnachtsbeleuchtung
© Stadt Graz

Er ist einer der großen Highlights im hiesigen Veranstaltungskalender: Der „Advent in Graz“, der – außerhalb von Pandemiezeiten – jährlich zehntausende nationale und internationale Gäste in die Grazer City lockt. Neben den beliebten Weihnachtsmärkten sind der traditionelle Weihnachtsbaum am Hauptplatz, die Eiskrippe und die Weihnachtsbeleuchtung jedes Jahr Fixstarter. Heuer wartet auf die GrazerInnen sowie Gäste der Stadt eine besondere „Sehenswürdigkeit“ im Advent: Die Herrengasse erstrahlt ab 19. November mit einer völlig neuen Weihnachtsbeleuchtung.

Bürgermeister Siegfried Nagl: „Es gab in den vergangenen Jahren immer wieder Überlegungen, die Weihnachtsbeleuchtung in der Herrengasse, als das zentrale Element, zu erneuern und auf den neuesten Stand der Technik zu bringen. In Abstimmung mit VertreterInnen der Innenstadtwirtschaft ist es nun gelungen, eine einzigartige Weihnachtsbeleuchtung zu kreieren, die den Anspruch einer innovativen und kreativen Stadt erfüllt und vor allem die Haupteinkaufsstraße in der Winterzeit weiter attraktiviert. Aber auch auf die „Falling Christmas Trees“ muss niemand verzichten: Sie werden heuer in der Schmiedgasse zu sehen sein.“

Die Weihnachtsbeleuchtung ist insbesondere in der Grazer Innenstadt ein wesentlicher Eckpfeiler des vom Holding Graz Citymanagement organisierten „Advent in Graz“. Getreu dem Motto „Advent der kurzen Wege – auf jedem Platz eine andere Atmosphäre“ präsentiert sich auch die Weihnachtsbeleuchtung jedes Jahr aufs Neue variantenreich. Die Herrengasse ist dabei zentrales Element – und beherbergt doch seit 2004 in Grundzügen dieselbe Beleuchtung mit den charakteristischen „The falling christmas trees“.

Die Details:

Durch die Erneuerung  wird die Weihnachtsbeleuchtung auf den neuesten Stand der Technik gebracht. Alle Anschlüsse, Stromversorgungen und statischen Vorrichtungen sind mit den zuständigen Behörden bereits abgestimmt. Die GrazerInnen und BesucherInnen erwartet mit der neuen „Sehenswürdigkeit“ entlang der Herrengasse unterschiedliche Animationen sowie Farb- und Lichtspiele: Neben rieselndem Schnee, Spritzkerzen und Sternschnuppen wird auch die Weihnachtsbotschaft „Frohes Fest“ sowie die Skyline zu sehen sein. Im Zuge der Neuerung werden auch zwei mit Dual-Lichtketten ausgestattete Fotopoints (im Uhrturm-Design und als Graz-Schriftzug) in der Innenstadt aufgestellt.

Die Facts:

  • Unterschiedliche Animationen, Farb- sowie Lichtspiele werden in der Herrengasse zu sehen sein: Sternschnuppen, Spritzkerzen, Frohes Fest, rieselnder Schnee und Skyline
  • Insgesamt gibt es 38.400 RGB-Lichtpunkte, die alle individuell ansteuerbar sind
  • Insgesamt gibt es 13 Lichtsegel über der Herrengasse, 8 davon mit RGB-Lichtpunkten (RGB Light Carpets), 6 davon sind Dual-Color-Lichtsegel
  • Die beiden Fotopoints (Uhrturm und Graz-Schriftzug) sind ebenfalls mit Dual-Lichtketten ausgestattet und in 2 Farben ansteuerbar
  • Die technische Umsetzung (Anbringung der Weihnachtsbeleuchtung etc.) erfolgt wieder über die Energie Graz, betreut wird die neue Weihnachtsbeleuchtung nach einem umfangreichen Vergabeverfahren von der Firma MK Solutions
  • Der „Advent in Graz“ startet heuer am 19. November

Zusammensetzung der Jury zur Auswahl der neuen Weihnachtsbeleuchtung:

  • Richard Peer (Marketingchef Holding Graz)
  • Heimo Maieritsch (Citymanager Holding Graz)
  • Wolfgang Konrad (Energie Graz)
  • Judith Schwarz (Echt Graz)
  • Diana Materi (Referentin Wirtschaft, Internationale Beziehungen, Tourismus im BGM-Amt)
  • Wolfgang Skerget (Leitung City of Design)
  • Andrea Keimel (Abteilungsleiterin A15)
  • Dieter Hardt-Stremayr (GF Graz Tourismus)
Weihnachtsbeleuchtung neu