Skip to main content

Stadt­park: base is mov­ing un­der­ground

Grünraumstütr
©

On 8 February, construction work started for the new green space base in the Stadtpark in Graz. Around EUR 1.8 million will be invested there; the municipal company GBG is carrying out the construction. The special aspect: The new base will be located underground which means that 700 square metres of new green space will be created in the Stadtpark.

The existing base was located on this area up to now. In future, the facilities will only be discernible by the a kiosk on the surface and an info centre. The new base is to be completed by the end of December.

The Stadtpark will be enhanced by the new construction.

Gert Heigl, Managing Director of Holding Graz

Delight at improved working conditions and more green space:

Holding Graz managing director Gert Heigl is delighted: “The Stadtpark will be enhanced by the new construction. As the new base is entirely immersed in the ground and it will not be possible to see it from the outside, we are giving green space back to the Stadtpark. In addition, the infrastructure and working conditions at the new base will now be adapted to the state of the art and our employees will find ideal working conditions that meet the requirements of employee protection regulations.”

And mayor Siegfried Nagl is also particularly delighted at this growth in the green lung of the city: “With the new green space base in the Stadtpark, old knowledge is coupled with smart, climate-friendly innovation. Because every amateur gardener knows: “The quality of the harvest depends on how good the soil, the seed and the care are.  With this base, the clever planning and the know-how of many were required before work can be started. That the Stadtpark is increasing by around 700 square metres of very precious green space is the greatest gift for the residents of Graz and also for me. Particularly in times of a pandemic, parks and exercising in nature are of elementary importance and invaluable.”

With the new green space base in the Stadtpark, old knowledge is coupled with smart, climate-friendly innovation.

Siegfried Nagl, mayor of the city of Graz

Grünraumstützpunkt Stadtpark neu
© Arch. DI Bernd Pürstl

COVID-19-Prävention
Alle Infos zu den Maßnahmen der Holding Graz!
Meintest du:

Stadt­park: Stütz­punkt wan­dert unter Erde

Grünraumstützpunkt Stadtpark neu
© Arch. DI Bernd Pürstl

Am 8. Februar war Baustart für den neuen Grünraumstützpunkt im Grazer Stadtpark. Rund 1,8 Millionen Euro werden da investiert, die städtische GBG führt den Bau aus. Das Besondere daran: Der neue Stützpunkt wird sich unter der Erde befinden, womit im Stadtpark 700 Quadratmeter neue Grünfläche entstehen.

Auf dieser Fläche befand sich nämlich bis dato der bisherige Stützpunkt. Künftig wird man die Räumlichkeiten nur noch an einem Kiosk an der Oberfläche und einem Infocenter erkennen. Ende Dezember soll der neue Stützpunkt fertig sein.

Der Stadtpark wird durch den Neubau eine Aufwertung erfahren.

Gert Heigl, Vorstandsdirektor Holding Graz

Freude über bessere Arbeitsbedingungen und mehr Grünraum:

Holding Graz-Vorstandsdirektor Gert Heigl freut sich: „Der Stadtpark wird durch den Neubau eine Aufwertung erfahren. Da der neue Stützpunkt komplett in die Erde versenkt und von außen nicht sichtbar sein wird, geben wir dem Stadtpark Grünfläche zurück. Außerdem werden am neuen Stützpunkt Infrastruktur und Arbeitsbedingungen nunmehr an den Stand der Technik angepasst sein und unsere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter optimale Arbeitsbedingungen vorfinden, die den Anforderungen des ArbeitnehmerInnenschutzes gerecht werden.“

Und auch Bürgermeister Siegfried Nagl freut sich auf dieses Wachstum in der grünen Lunge der Stadt ganz besonders: „Mit dem neuen Grünraumstützpunkt im Stadtpark verbindet sich altes Wissen mit smarter, klimagerechter Innovation. Denn jeder Hobbygärtner weiß: Die Qualität der Ernte hängt davon ab, wie gut der Boden, das Saatgut und die Pflege sind. Bei diesem Stützpunkt waren die schlaue Planung und das Knowhow vieler gefragt, bevor mit den Arbeiten gestartet werden kann. Dass dadurch der Stadtpark um rund 700 Quadratmeter wertvollste Grünfläche wächst, ist für die Grazerinnen und Grazer aber auch für mich das größte Geschenk. Besonders in der Pandemiezeit sind Parks und das Bewegen in der Natur elementar wichtig und wertvoll.“

Mit dem neuen Grünraumstützpunkt im Stadtpark verbindet sich altes Wissen mit smarter, klimagerechter Innovation.

Siegfried Nagl, Bürgermeister der Stadt Graz

Grünraumstützpunkt Stadtpark neu
© Arch. DI Bernd Pürstl