Skip to main content

Air­port: Flights to Frank­furt again

Flughafen Graz Frankfurt Lufthansa
© Flughafen Graz

Due to the COVID-19 lockdowns, the connection between Graz and Frankfurt was temporarily suspended last autumn. As of today, there are again 4 flights per week between the two cities as a first step. From July onwards, the frequencies are to be increased.

Councillor Günter Riegler: “We are delighted that the important connection to the financial and economic metropolis of Frankfurt is being resumed. This secures jobs in Graz in these challenging times and maintains our competitiveness with other competing regions.”

Wolfgang Malik, CEO of Holding Graz: “I am delighted about the connection to one of the most important hubs and the further positive impetus for the local economy that this will bring. Our airport was unfortunately in a ‘parking position’ and now we are hopefully going to start climbing again.”

Our airport was unfortunately in a 'parking position' and now we are hopefully going to start climbing again."

Wolfgang Malik, CEO Holding Graz

“As an important transfer airport for many business and private travellers, Frankfurt was the busiest route for Graz Airport before the Corona pandemic,” explains Wolfgang Grimus, Managing Director of Graz Airport. “We are very pleased to be able to offer this destination, which is extremely important for the Styrian economy, in our portfolio again. Graz is connected to 100 Lufthansa destinations worldwide via the Frankfurt hub.”

Flights currently take place on Monday, Friday and Saturday in the morning, and on Sunday in the afternoon. A further increase in frequencies is already planned for July.

In addition to Frankfurt, Vienna and Düsseldorf are currently served in the scheduled sector. The resumption of Amsterdam with KLM is planned for mid-June and Zurich and Munich flights will be added in the course of the summer.

Skip to main content

Flug­ha­fen: Wie­der Flü­ge nach Frank­furt

Flughafen Graz Frankfurt Lufthansa
© Flughafen Graz/Foto Fischer

Bedingt durch die COVID-19 Lockdowns wurde im letzten Herbst die Verbindung zwischen Graz und Frankfurt temporär ausgesetzt. Seit heute gibt es zwischen den beiden Städten im ersten Schritt wieder 4 Flüge pro Woche. Ab Juli sollen die Frequenzen aufgestockt werden.

Stadtrat Günter Riegler: „Die Freude ist groß, dass die wichtige Anbindung an die Finanz- und Wirtschaftsmetropole Frankfurt wieder aufgenommen wird. Das sichert in diesen herausfordernden Zeiten Arbeitsplätze in Graz und erhält unsere Wettbewerbsfähigkeit mit anderen konkurrierenden Regionen aufrecht.“

Wolfgang Malik, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Holding Graz: „Ich freue mich über die Anbindung zu einem der wichtigsten Hubs und den damit verbundenen weiteren, positiven Impuls für die heimische Wirtschaft. Unser Flughafen war leider in ‚Parkposition‘ und nun gehen wir hoffentlich wieder in den Steigflug über.“

Unser Flughafen war leider in ‚Parkposition‘ und nun gehen wir hoffentlich wieder in den Steigflug über

Wolfgang Malik, CEO Holding Graz

„Frankfurt war als wichtiger Umsteigeflughafen für viele Geschäfts- und Privatreisende vor der Corona Pandemie die aufkommensstärkste Strecke für den Flughafen Graz“, erklärt Wolfgang Grimus, Geschäftsführer des Flughafen Graz. „Wir freuen uns sehr, diese für die steirische Wirtschaft äußerst wichtige Destination wieder in unserem Portfolio anbieten zu können. Über die Drehscheibe Frankfurt ist Graz an 100 Lufthansa Destinationen weltweit angebunden.“

Die Flüge finden derzeit am Montag, Freitag und Samstag am Vormittag, am Sonntag am Nachmittag statt. Mit Juli ist bereits eine weitere Aufstockung der Frequenzen geplant.

Neben Frankfurt werden im Liniensektor derzeit auch Wien und Düsseldorf bedient. Mitte Juni ist die Wiederaufnahme von Amsterdam mit KLM geplant und im Laufe des Sommers werden Zürich und München Flüge dazukommen.