Did you mean:

Air­port: MCG as a strate­gic part­ner

© Flughafen Graz/Krug

MCG (Messe Congress Graz Betriebsgesellschaft m.b.H.) acquires a 6% stake in Graz airport as a strategic partner.

The coronavirus pandemic is having sustained negative effects on the entire air and travel industry and thus also on Graz airport of course. After 2019, the best year in its history, the airport was preparing for further growth. Flights started to be cancelled in the first half of March and the resulting lockdown led to around three months without any normal scheduled or charter services; as a result, expectations had to be revised downwards. With just under 200,000 airline passengers, a decline of 81% was posted in 2020.

Günter Riegler, city councillor responsible for finance and shareholdings: “As Graz airport is of inestimable importance for Graz as a technology, innovation and tourism/conference location, we considered along with Holding Graz and the management which strategic measures we could take to strengthen and support it.  One point here is a capital increase by around EUR 2.3 million which will be made by the entry of the MCG Group into the group of strategic shareholders of the airport.”

Holding Graz CEO Wolfgang Malik: “Another very fundamental point in our considerations is the networking on the one hand with the MCG trade fair and congress group as a fundamental location factor for tourism, congresses, sport and trade fair events.  And the ever close links between Graz airport and non-governmental institutions such as the Economic Chamber, Chamber of Agriculture, banks and private shareholders of the trade fair group.

Riegler: “These three pivotal motives were the thoughts behind my suggestion to transfer a 6% stake in the airport to the MCG Group in return for a capital increase in the amount of around EUR 2.3 million. I am confident that we have thus strengthened Graz airport further in difficult times and that we will return again to the passenger figures planned in the medium term once the Covid crisis has ended.  I would also like to emphasise that we are still fighting to be awarded federal aid for the airport.”

I am confident that we have thus strengthened Graz airport further in difficult times and that we will return again to the passenger figures planned in the medium term once the Covid crisis has ended.

Günter Riegler, city councillor responsible for shareholdings

Flughafen MCG
© Holding Graz
© Flughafen Graz/Hummer
Flughafen Graz
© Flughafen Graz/Hummer

Strategic partnership sealed: Holding Board director Gert Heigl, Holding CEO Wolfgang Malik, Graz airport managing director Jürgen Löschnig, Graz airport managing director Wolfgang Grimus, city councillor Günter Riegler, MCG Board director Armin Egger, MCG Board director Barbara Muhr (from left).

Statements by MCG in this regard:

Barbara Muhr, Board member at MCG: “Graz airport was and continues to be a strategic partner of MCG. Like Graz airport, as another company in the Graz group, MCG also has a high business and strategic interest in ensuring that after the Covid-19 pandemic is over the good flight connections to the destinations that have been served up to now and in particular to the important hubs are restored as quickly as possible.”

Armin Egger, Board member at MCG: “Due to our international business activities and our intention to increase these international links further, we as MCG do of course have a strong interest in a functioning and internationally linked airport as a mobility hub. We also see it as an important task to strengthen Graz as an industrial location. The even more extensive links as a result will create new synergies and enhance our areas of activity.”

Holding Graz CEO Wolfgang Malik on the takeover of the shares

Skip to main content

Flug­ha­fen: MCG als stra­te­gi­scher Part­ner

Flughafen Graz
© Flughafen Graz/Krug

Die MCG (Messe Congress Graz Betriebsgesellschaft m.b.H.) steigt mit 6 % der Anteile als strategischer Partner beim Flughafen Graz ein.

Die Corona-Pandemie hat auf die gesamte Flug- und Reisebranche und somit natürlich auch auf den Flughafen Graz nachhaltige negative Auswirkungen. Nach 2019, dem besten Jahr in der Geschichte, war man auf weiteres Wachstum eingestellt. Aufgrund der beginnenden Flugstreichungen in der ersten Märzhälfte und dem darauffolgenden Lockdown, der auf dem Flughafen Graz zu rund drei Monaten ohne regulären Linien- und Charterverkehr geführt hat, mussten die Erwartungen weit nach unten revidiert werden. Mit knapp 200.000 Fluggästen wurde 2020 ein Minus von 81 % verzeichnet.

Finanz- und Beteiligungsstadtrat Günter Riegler„Da der Flughafen Graz für den Technologie-, Innovations- und Tourismus-/Konferenzstandort Graz eine gar nicht hoch genug einzuschätzende Bedeutung hat, überlegten wir mit der Holding Graz und dem Management, welche strategischen Verstärkungs- und Unterstützungsmaßnahmen wir setzen können. Ein Punkt ist dabei eine Kapitalerhöhung um rund 2,3 Mio EUR, die durch den Eintritt der MCG-Gruppe in den strategischen Gesellschafterkreis des Flughafens erfolgt“.

Holding Graz-CEO Wolfgang Malik: „Ein weiterer ganz wesentlicher Punkt unserer Überlegungen ist die Vernetzung einerseits mit der MCG-Messe-Congressgruppe als wesentlichem Standortfaktor für Tourismus, Kongresse, Sport und Messeveranstaltungen. Sowie die dadurch noch stärker werdende Vernetzung des Grazer Flughafens mit non-governmentalen Institutionen wie Wirtschaftskammer, Landwirtschaftskammer, Banken und privaten Gesellschaftern der Messe-Gruppe“.

Riegler: „Diese drei zentralen Motive waren waren die Überlegungen für meinen Vorschlag, einen Anteil von 6% am Flughafen gegen eine Kapitalerhöhung im Ausmaß von rund 2,3 Mio EUR an die MCG-Gruppe zu übertragen. Ich bin zuversichtlich, dass wir damit dem Flughafen Graz eine weitere Stärkung in schwierigen Zeiten zuteil werden haben lassen und wir nach Beendigung der COVID-Krise wieder zu den mittelfristig geplanten Passagierzahlen zurückkehren werden. Betonen möchte ich auch, dass wir weiterhin darum kämpfen, Bundeshilfen für den Flughafen zugestanden zu bekommen“.

Ich bin zuversichtlich, dass wir damit dem Flughafen Graz eine weitere Stärkung in schwierigen Zeiten zuteil werden haben lassen und wir nach Beendigung der Covid-Krise wieder zu den mittelfristig geplanten Passagierzahlen zurückkehren werden.

Günter Riegler, Beteiligungsstadtrat

Flughafen MCG
© Holding Graz
Flughafen Graz
© Flughafen Graz/Hummer
Flughafen Graz
© Flughafen Graz/Hummer

Strategische Partnerschaft besiegelt: Holding-Vorstandsdirektor Gert Heigl, Holding-CEO Wolfgang Malik, Flughafen Graz-GF Jürgen Löschnig, Flughafen Graz-GW Wolfgang Grimus, STR Günter Riegler, MCG-Vorstandsdirektor Armin Egger, MCG-Vorstandsdirektorin Barbara Muhr (v. l.).

Statements der MCG dazu:

Barbara Muhr, Vorständin MCG: „Der Flughafen Graz war und ist ein strategischer Partner der MCG. Wie der Flughafen Graz, als weiteres Unternehmen im Haus Graz, hat auch die MCG ein hohes geschäftliches und strategisches Interesse daran, dass nach Bewältigung der Covid-19 Pandemie so rasch wie möglich wieder die guten Flugverbindungen zu den bisher bedienten Destinationen und vor allem zu den wichtigen Hubs aufgebaut werden.“

Armin Egger, Vorstand MCG: „Wir als MCG haben aufgrund unserer internationalen Geschäftstätigkeiten und der Absicht, diese internationalen Anknüpfungspunkte weiter zu steigern, natürlich ein hohes Interesse an einem funktionierenden und international angebundenen Flughafen als Mobilitätsdrehscheibe. Zudem sehen wir es als wichtige Aufgabe, den Industriestandort Graz zu stärken. Die dadurch noch weitläufigere Vernetzung schafft neue Synergien und eine Bereicherung für unsere Tätigkeitsfelder.“

Holding Graz-CEO Wolfgang Malik zur Übernahme der Anteile